Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Asterix
    • Oct 2010

Dr DS Grieve Fraud Continuance

There have been some dark new developments in the Dr DS Grieve saga. A lot of half truths and untruths are being discovered and Grieve's lies are unraveling.... I have been asked to post this picture here - it apparently means something to Grieve and his wife and they read this forum often....

It seems that Grieve (and his wife) is a master of deception but forgot one little thing......you cannot hide from someone determined to find the truth.
    That is why it says
    The truth shall set you free......

Also sent to me was this picture:-

which looks remarkably similar to this one...

Dr David Stephen Grieve aka Dr DS Grieve
    Last edited by Asterix; 14-Dec-10, 06:05 AM. Reason: sp

Comment

• Lawyer Destroyer

• Oct 2010

Dodgy Doctor - SA is Sick and Tired of Bad Eggs-Especially When They're Professionals

SA is reeling under white collar crime and corruption. The USA has declared it the second greatest threat to the US economy bar the war on terror.

Interesting - Take a moment to consider :-

Time to add your voice. It is every persons duty as a citizen to contribute to the downfall of any dodgy character - especially when it is a professional, a person trusted in society, a pillar of the community.

Comment

• Ruiter In Swart
        • Oct 2010

Dr DS Grieve - Skelm Stories

Net so

net so

Comment

• Cathy Duncan
          • Nov 2010

Ahan, that's a pretty interesting story with quite alluring covers and snap of Dr. David Stephen Grieve.
          Ask Questions and Live Help

Comment

• Asterix
            • Oct 2010

Dr DS Grieve Investments / Dr DS Grieve Bridging Solutions (pty) Ltd in Liquidation

Well well well - it seems that Dr DS Grieve has operated Pyramid and Ponzi schemes before.....several individuals (again including patients of his) from Pretoria and Centurion recently confirmed that Dr DS Grieve left them substantially out of pocket in the early 2000's - whilst practising as a medical doctor - at the Clubview Medical Centre - only escaping prosecution by the skin of his teeth and with the help of a Pretoria lawyer Mr Gert van Schalkwyk of Arcadia, a criminal lawyer who negotiated and helped Dr DS Grieve to pay the investors a percentage back of what they had invested and then made them sign confidentiality and non disclosure hold harmless contracts. Fortunately they have not been shy to come forward and have willingly offered to make full disclosure. Grieve narrowly missed being prosecuted by the NPA when no formal complaints were made to the SAPS. Grieve had chanced his arm and was guilty of a multitude of sins and transgressions under the companies, banks and trading acts. He was sternly warned by Pretoria Attorney Mr Gert Van Schalkwyk that he was on thin ice and risked criminal prosecution.

Comment

• Lawyer Destroyer

• Oct 2010

Dr DS Grieve / Sanet Grieve Botha - Ponzi Scheme-Comparable Criminals Get 22 Yrs Jail

One clear fact has surfaced to any follower. Grieve and his wife ran a Ponzi scheme.

The fact that material evidence exists of history and that Grieve is a recidivous finance scam/scheme operator is damning. We have uncovered specific information relating to the Grieve Group scam that we will in due course pass on to the appropriate authorities - much of which has come from readers and contributors to this forum.

Whilst there is an inevitable conclusion to the Grieves actions, it may be appropriate for Grieve to note that the Naidoos mentioned below in comparable circumstances may have escaped with far lesser consequences had they paid back their victims. In typical fashion they tried "to hold on to their ill gotten gold - and drowned".

Grieve has in a premeditated fashion simply set out to con his victims with a pack of lies in the form of presentations and promises, spreadsheets and verbal diatribe. South African society is sick and tired of this type of behaviour which the USA has declared the greatest battle since the war on terror. SA Courts, SAPS, Investigators and even the SARS need to send out a strong message - this will not be tolerated - especially not by professionals upon whom the weight of responsibility for society rests - especially those with the accepted societal responsibility for other peoples lives. After all if a doctor can lie about some things, he can lie about anything......it simply depends on the price.

Quote:-

Con artists get 22 years
              December 20 2010 at 02:43pm
              By Barbara Cole

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

An Umhlanga Rocks couple who fleeced investors of R21million in a pyramid scheme have each been jailed for 22 years.

Magistrate Kim de Freitas told Pranitha Naidoo, 48, and her husband, Daya Naidoo, 55, before passing sentence in the Commercial Crime Court as some of their victims looked on: “What is appalling is the level of dishonesty you were prepared to go to to save your own skins.”

On the con operation, De Freitas said there was no doubt that the couple’s actions had been deliberate and “very calculated”.

He ruled on Friday that they should only be considered for parole once they had served two thirds of their terms.

The Naidoos pleaded guilty in March to fraud involving R21 milion. They repaid only R7 million to their former clients.

Victims invested amounts from R80 000 to R3 million.

The couple admitted fleecing and misrepresenting investors, saying that instead of investing the money in the stock exchange as they had promised, they had put it into one investment, paying out interest by rolling cash from one investor to the next.

When their business did not perform, they resorted to attracting investors fraudulently and admitted stealing more than R1 million from one client to pay others, saying they had no intention of returning the money.

The magistrate said they had clearly been operating a pyramid scheme and that investors had trusted them with their hard-earned money.

Their actions had had a devastating effect on the lives of many investors, De Freitas said.

Their various transactions had taken place over a long period of time and they could have stopped at any time.

But when they had realised they could not get out of the trap they created for themselves, they had blatantly taken money from other investors without any intention of repaying it.

“That is beyond comprehension,” the magistrate said.

The couple had repeatedly made promises to the court about their ability to repay investors the R14 million outstanding over the past nine months but nothing concrete had materialised.

In view of the modus operandi and the length of time involved, De Freitas said he was surprised that the matter had not gone to the High Court.

Some people appeared to have no regard for law and order, and the attitude was that if they got away with it “good for them”, he said.

The prosecutor, Ashika Luckan, said the court had allowed nine adjournments and had bent over backwards to help the accused come up with money for investors.

“They are all sitting here to see that justice is done,” Luckan said.

One complainant, who did not want to be named and who lost his R450 000 pension payout in the scam, told Daya Naidoo during an adjournment that “he had the gift of the gab”.

Asked by complainants if they still had their house in Umhlanga Rocks, Naidoo said that they did, but that it was going to be taken away by the bank. - Daily News

full article - Referenced - http://www.iol.co.za/news/south-afri...ears-1.1003310
              Last edited by Lawyer Destroyer; 30-Dec-10, 09:52 PM. Reason: sp

Comment

• Lawyer Destroyer

• Oct 2010

USA SENDS A CLEAR MESSAGE ON INVESTMENT FRAUD AND WHITE COLLAR CRIME

READ THIS - A colleague in the USA has sent me this - a clear demonstration that the USA has had enough and is starting a world trend against fraudsters and investment fraud:-

Operation Broken Trust: Over 500 Charged in $10.4 Billion Investment Fraud Sweep
                Published: Monday, 6 Dec 2010 | 1:00 PM ET By: John Carney
                Senior Editor, CNBC.com

Attorney General Eric Holder announced on Monday that federal authorities have charged more than 500 people as a result of what they are calling “Operation Broken Trust,” a nationwide crackdown on investment fraud.

The operation has resulted in criminal charges against 343 people, involving more than $8.3 billion in estimated losses from fraud. An additional 189 people have been charged in civil cases involving estimated losses of more than $2.1 billion.

The government claims that more than 120,000 people were harmed by the fraud.

"Operation Broken Trust was organized in August by the Financial Fraud Enforcement Task Force, an interagency body set up in November 2009 by President Obama.

FOR THE FULL ARTICLE READ HERE -

AND VERY INTERESTING:-

“With this operation, the Financial Fraud Enforcement Task Force is sending a strong message,” said Attorney General Holder. “To the public: be alert for these frauds, take appropriate measures to protect yourself, and report such schemes to proper authorities when they occur. And to anyone operating or attempting to operate an investment scam: cheating investors out of their earnings and savings is no longer a safe business plan - we will use every tool at our disposal to find you, to stop you, and to bring you to justice.”

Our suggestion to RSA Law Enforcement is - send a clear message with the Grieve cabal -

Here is the full link http://www.justice.gov/opa/pr/2010/D...0-ag-1390.html

Last edited by Lawyer Destroyer; 02-Jan-11, 04:14 AM.

Comment

• Asterix
                  • Oct 2010

Stop Fraud and Financial Scams

Great link. Have noticed across all media that RSA and the SAPS have also taken up a marked sea change in attitudes towards fraud and scams of any financial nature.

Of interest to me was this paragraph

The operators of these schemes often promise high returns to investors, but engage in little to no legitimate investment activity. Such schemes include Ponzi schemes, affinity fraud, prime bank/high-yield investment scams, foreign exchange (FOREX) frauds, business opportunity fraud and other similar schemes. In some instances, operators of these schemes filed for bankruptcy in an attempt to avoid claims by victim-investors.

which it seems is exactly what Grieve and his wife tried to do with their lawyer.

http://www.justice.gov/opa/pr/2010/December/10-ag-1390.html
                  Last edited by Asterix; 04-Jan-11, 10:39 PM. Reason: sp

Comment

• Lawyer Destroyer

• Oct 2010

Dr DS Grieve - Is it Fraud - Yes

I have just seen this on another site - http://antifraudintl.org/showthread.php?t=43038&page=2

Full draft:-

11 January 2011

DS Grieve Bridging Solutions

Welcome back to the world we call reality folks.

I sincerely trust 2011 will be what I have a sneaking suspicion its going to be a cracker of a year.

I also trust you and your loved ones enjoyed the break and heaped the peace and love you so richly deserve upon one another this festive season past.

I didn’t really get much of a break myself having worked until 24 December 2010.

The reason for this mainly being a relatively new matter I’m involved with.

I am assisting a group of investors that have lost their shirts in what can only be described as an investment fraud on a pro bono basis.

Like most of these scams I only become sensitised to the nature and scope of the problem when my attention is drawn to the scheme in an investigation.

It seems that the Barry Tannenbaum type scam is a prolific one and that it has reached epidemic proportions locally and globally due to the nature and structure of the different investment schemes.

People invest money, are paid better than average interest on their investments, invest more and then find they lose everything including their capital and the interest they eventually re-invest.

The operators of these schemes engage in little to no legitimate investment activity. In many instances, operators of these schemes file for bankruptcy in an attempt to avoid claims by victim-investors.

To date in the US a multi-disciplinary task team has uncovered cases involving over 310 such operators whose schemes have impacted on over 120 000 victims throughout that country with over US$ 10 billion suffered in losses according to the US Department of Justice Office of Public Affairs .

What strikes me most about the case I’m involved with is the fact that the callousness of the criminals involved is matched only by the remarkable people battling to restore the dignity of the victims.

I have been scrutinising the efforts by Bowman Gilfillan and in particular an attorney called Haroon Laher from transcripts of liquidation proceedings in this particular matter and literally at one stage had to sit back and acknowledge that in this man (Laher) resides the fundamental principles that made the profession great in the first place.

I also have to thank Pauli Simpson and Mercia Fryer at Specialised Services Group (SSG) and Brigadier Casper Jonker (SAPS) for making the time so late in the year to review and escalate the matter.

The current case I am scrutinising involves a certain Dr. DS Grieve and his companies.

An application was made in December 2009 to liquidate a number of Grieve's businesses in what we call a quick and dirty application, which but for a sharp eyed judge, may just have sneaked in.

This application was declined by the court. This was then repeated via CIPRO (a backdoor "voluntary" liquidation) in January 2010.

Bowman Gilfillan in Sandton challenged the voluntary liquidation application and had it converted into a compulsory liquidation. This creates a whole new set of legal rules and changes the playing field significantly for Bowman and the victims. It also changes the situation dramatically for those who applied for the voluntary liquidation.

The companies of Dr DS Grieve , specifically Dr DS Grieve Bridging Solutions a Pty Ltd entity has been made the subject of a Special Inquiry.

Debtors underestimate the seriousness of their situation if fault is found or discovered in the form of fraud, reckless or negligent trading, malfeasance or any other of a host of business "sins".

Retribution can be fast and ruthless against the perpetrators.

Basically David Stephen Grieve offered bridging finance to people during the buying and selling of properties.

Trading on very thin margins David Grieve offered unusually attractive interest rates to investors prepared to put money into the business to grow it.

This doesn’t make sense at all because Grieve could have just as well borrowed that money from the bank at much more favourable rates and instantly increased his margins.

Naturally he did his friends and family (the usual victims) a “favour” by offering them a slice of his “pie”.

The success of his scheme depends largely on his ability to attract new investors so he can use their money to pay the exorbitant interest rates of the “older” investors and when that fails (attracting new investors), so does the scheme.

The question isn’t so much if the scheme will fail but more like when?

In this instance when was when the shortfall reached R 28 million .

The R 28 million question remains, “ where is the money ”?

The fact is, because the business involves the buying and selling of property and providing “bridging” finance in the window period a Bond is approved, funds must by necessity pass through lawyers Trust accounts.

The upshot of this is that the missing millions if this cannot be traced and it cannot, must have as with any asset been misappropriated in some way.

The fact that this is an investment scheme doesn’t alter the principle of theft, which is an asset is misappropriated before it reaches an organisation, while within the organisation or after it leaves the organisation.

Consequently the missing R 28 million will be able to be traced through various lawyer trust accounts.

The only question that remains is which ones?

This shouldn’t be too hard to figure out.

According to Professor Barry Spitz , the one time the corporate veil that protects a trust can be lifted and a Trust cannot be protected is when that Trust is tainted by the proceeds of crime .

It is high time that lawyers like Haroon Laher are rewarded for their diligence and common humanity and those that facilitated the stripping of the investors in Dr. DS Grieve’s schemes funds find their Trust Accounts seized by the Asset Forfeiture Unit .

The issue at hand isn’t simply one of investors losing their life savings, it is about sustainability; it is about investor protection and rule of law.

It’s about creating a climate that encourages foreign direct investment and confidence in the economy through due process.

I look forward to seeing how this case pans out.

Suffice it to say, Dr. DS Grieve seems to demonstrate no empathy or remorse for his victims .

He claims he will be rehabilitated sometime this year already and will be looking to continue his business practices.

If, or when he does, this will be the third such venture .

Let the buyer beware .

Warmest regards

Bart H

Last edited by Lawyer Destroyer; 13-Jan-11, 11:25 PM. Reason: sp

Comment

• Ruiter In Swart
                      • Oct 2010

Dr DS Grieve se Stories

Many people knows me and so does this skelem doctor and his wife Sanet. They can get their lawyer to challenge me anytime for calling them crooks. I am a senior businessman in Centurion and everyone there knows me. They stole the money off their best friends and - even the inheritance of one friend who died and left his money to his children - this doctor swallowed that up as well....This guy even stole his own brothers pension and life savings nearly R10 million rand then send him a text "talk with my lawyer Willem Storm". Not even warned him he was closing the business - he send him every month wonderful statements of account showing how his value of his money invested less then 3 months before was growing. He never even paid him one cent back - what a brother hey. This guy and his wife are thieves - and they know who and where I am - I even listened to him lying to his brother for hours on end with his wife supporting him - lekker liegbekkie - they can come with lawyers and whatever they want - the truth is the truth...ek stem saam - julle moet in die hel vrot word....en julle sal.

Comment

• Lawyer Destroyer

• Oct 2010

Letter From The Head of The South African Corporate Fraud Management Institute

Here are copies the original pages of the Head of The Corporate Fraud Management Institutes letter on Dr DS Grieve of Centurion Pretoria:-

There has been significant progress on this case and soon to be revealed.....

Comment

• Lawyer Destroyer

• Oct 2010

Dr DS Grieve

Dr DS Grieve - saga.

Seems Grieve and his wife lived the high life on OPM and then just tried to cut away - hoping they wouldn't be discovered. They were.

Pic taken from Grieve's Facebook page - just reminder of what they look like.

Last edited by Dave A; 31-May-11, 08:30 AM. Reason: sp

Comment

• Ruiter In Swart
                            • Oct 2010

Dr David Grieve

This doctor is a full on crooked fraud. He and his skelm wife Sanet should be in jail. I have today rode to the people investigating him and hand in a full sworn verklaring about what they did - especially to his own brother. He stole nearly R10 million rands from an innocent man who trusted him, his own donderse brother, his personal friends and patients of his as well as many old pensioners, I know many of these people and this doctor is a thief. Whatever happens Grieve is not the end of this story. Many many people is watching you carefully. You know we know - you know we know what you did. Some lawyers and you are very clever using trust accounts to launder money. I wonder what these lawyers are going to say soon - I made a proper statement on this - and I hope it sink you properly. Do these lawyers knows how you tricked your investors and people......what does Barry Aaron and your friends now thinks about all this - he knows a lot about Trust accounts, he was regular in the news hey....we will see.

Comment

• Lawyer Destroyer

• Oct 2010

DR DS Grieve Photographs

I am reliably advised that an error in photo album deletion has accidentally removed a number of pictures from this (and other) threads. The originator is hosting them again on Baidu or something similar and will repost shortly for links to be made. Watch this space....
                              Last edited by Lawyer Destroyer; 13-Apr-11, 05:21 PM. Reason: sp

Comment

• Dave A
                                Site Caretaker

• May 2006

Are you sure it was an accident?

I have received a request to remove these threads...
                                Participation is voluntary.

Alcocks Electrical Services | Alcocks Pest Control & Entomological Services | Alcocks Hygiene Services

Comment

Working...