Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Same conduit for plug and stove

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2024
    Location
    Cape Town
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Same conduit for plug and stove

    Hi

    I am redoing the kitchen and installing new plugs. Is it allowed to have the oven's neutral, live and earth wire running through the same conduit as another plug socket that is right next to the isolator switch? The plug will obviously have its own live and neutral but share the same earth wire as the stove.

  2. #2
    Platinum Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    Port Elizabeth
    Posts
    1,224
    Thanks
    34
    Thanked 300 Times in 254 Posts
    What size stove circuit ?

    It is not good practice and you will be pulling 2 circuits through one box either the plug or stove isolator and would need to label accordingly

    Sharing the earths is not a good idea as , rather have separate complete circuits.

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2024
    Location
    Cape Town
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    It's an electric oven with a gas Hob. No electric stove. I don't have the oven specs on me at the moment but I don't see it drawing more than 16 amps (if not much less). On either side of the isolator is a plug socket. To avoid chasing 2 additonals channels for each plug I thought I could just run a twin earth cable through the same conduit. The plugs will be fed via twin earth cable directly from the plugs breaker. Oven will be fed with loose live, neutral and earth from the 'stove' breaker/isolator. There is enough space in the conduit

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2023
    Location
    South africa
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Mlb View Post
    It's an electric oven with a gas Hob. No electric stove. I don't have the oven specs on me at the moment but I don't see it drawing more than 16 amps (if not much less). On either side of the isolator is a plug socket. To avoid chasing 2 additonals channels for each plug I thought I could just run a twin earth cable through the same conduit. The plugs will be fed via twin earth cable directly from the plugs breaker. Oven will be fed with loose live, neutral and earth from the 'stove' breaker/isolator. There is enough space in the conduit
    Are you sure there is enough space in the conduit i believe it should not be filled more than 40%

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2023
    Location
    jhb
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hi----This is the only calculation approved by the chief inspector to do what you want to do---The 40% is a requirement for cables in wireways.--- See the following regs and tables regarding conduit sizes and wires inside it. It is relatively simple.



    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	cable sizes conduit.jpg 
Views:	30 
Size:	49.4 KB 
ID:	8882Click image for larger version. 

Name:	conduit size wires.jpg 
Views:	27 
Size:	36.1 KB 
ID:	8883Click image for larger version. 

Name:	wireway conduit sizes.jpg 
Views:	29 
Size:	36.6 KB 
ID:	8884

  6. #6
    Silver Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    351
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 50 Times in 43 Posts
    In the same conduit - Yes - if its big enough

    If you have 2 x 6mm GP (L+N for stove) and 3 x 2.5mm (C.P.C. for stove and L+N for socket) + 1.5mm (for socket C.P.C.) you are at 96 (max 90 on C value on 20mm conduit)

    I have seen where guys use manufaturers data and calculate CSA of all cables in conduit and and they still have 40% space - don't like it but have seen it to justify why they passed it.

    Same earth condutor for 2 circuits - in a new instal - I'd say no.
    In an existing (old) install where your not modifying anyhthing - i believe its a pass (don't like it but....)

    If it was already there, I wouldn't make a client rip thier wall apart to change it.

Similar Threads

  1. [Question] Gas Compliance for gas stove proximity to stove electrical switch
    By MarinaD in forum Electrical Contracting Industry Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 21-Jul-23, 02:11 PM
  2. Conduit tip
    By Derlyn in forum Electrical Contracting Industry Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-May-23, 02:31 AM
  3. [Question] What to do with gas stove plug
    By Thys LOW Elektries in forum Electrical Contracting Industry Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 30-Jan-21, 05:16 PM
  4. New stove plug
    By ians in forum Electrical Contracting Industry Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 26-Jan-21, 01:11 PM
  5. Too many cables in conduit
    By skatingsparks in forum Electrical Contracting Industry Forum
    Replies: 31
    Last Post: 12-Mar-19, 09:02 AM

Tags for this Thread

Did you like this article? Share it with your favourite social network.

Did you like this article? Share it with your favourite social network.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •