Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Unswitch sockets ok?

  1. #1
    Silver Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    222
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 42 Times in 35 Posts

    Unswitch sockets ok?

    Just checking for someone.

    Pop up sockets which has a European module (mobile phone charger type) and a normal 16 amp South African socket and no switch.

    I can't see anywhere in the SANS book where there must be a switch.

    I saw in an old thread that it used to be under 6.15.6.5. which didn't require it to have a switch but in the new amendment its been removed.

    Thoughts....

  2. #2
    Diamond Member AndyD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Cape Town
    Posts
    4,672
    Thanks
    542
    Thanked 887 Times in 717 Posts
    Is the socket for a fixed appliance? When you say 'European module' do you mean a Schuko type socket outlet or USB outlet with a transformer/SMPS built into the socket maybe?

    Sorry, lots of questions...also pop-up, do you mean those floor sockets/ socket you sometimes see in kitchen counters that open and close flush after use?

    As far as I know, general purpose 16A socket outlets don't need to be switched. I have a vague recollection that if they're DC they might need to be switched so this could apply to a USB socket. If nobody else has the info to hand I'll have a look in the regs when I get a chance and come back with a quote.

    Are you back in the UK by the way? Hopefully you're well, how's things going?
    _______________________________________________
    I am special and so is Vanash.
    _______________________________________________

  3. #3
    Silver Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    222
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 42 Times in 35 Posts
    Is the socket for a fixed appliance? Nope. To demo small kitchen items - Blenders, kettle etc on a podium

    When you say 'European module' do you mean a Schuko type socket outlet or USB outlet with a transformer/SMPS built into the socket maybe? Not the round ones. The ones like mobile phone chargers plug into. Not the USB thing.

    Sorry, lots of questions...also pop-up, do you mean those floor sockets/ socket you sometimes see in kitchen counters that open and close flush after use? Yup. Only Legrand do a 4 module one as far as I can find but stock is a problem. Crabtree only do a 3 module, hence the need for to know about the switch thing. This thing would be teh ultimate solution but stock is problem and we need it NOW NOW.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	4-Module-Pop-Up-Floor-Angled-Lifestyle_grande.jpg 
Views:	44 
Size:	13.7 KB 
ID:	6600



    As far as I know, general purpose 16A socket outlets don't need to be switched. I have a vague recollection that if they're DC they might need to be switched so this could apply to a USB socket. If nobody else has the info to hand I'll have a look in the regs when I get a chance and come back with a quote.

    Are you back in the UK by the way? Hopefully you're well, how's things going?[/QUOTE]. Going there for Christmas a see where the job offer is at, there are a lot of options as there is a shortage of experienced electricians that side (I get a calls from old employers/clients every week). For now crazy busy this side but future prospects look better that side. I am lucky to be incredibly busy but just can't get decent help. If i let go of the reins for a second there is problems and I'm fed up with that side of things. I am waiting for my permanent residency to come through. That will be the final thing. I have been here this long it would be good to get that, but if i get turned down then that will be enough for me. I'll be on the plane the next day no matter what. I don't have the energy to mess around with home affairs anymore. I just don't need this kak when I can go there a its much easier and less complicated.

  4. #4
    Diamond Member AndyD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Cape Town
    Posts
    4,672
    Thanks
    542
    Thanked 887 Times in 717 Posts
    Okay, here's a few suggestions. Have you got an ACDC catalogue?

    Page 309; Pop up module.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	u1.jpg 
Views:	40 
Size:	49.0 KB 
ID:	6601
    It accepts 22.5x45mm and 45x45mm modules so should accept Gewiss Chorus range of accessories as far as I know but check with the supplier first.

    Also they have these options;
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	u2.jpg 
Views:	89 
Size:	65.6 KB 
ID:	6602
    They also accept the 45x45 modules like the Gewiss Chorus

    There's also a 'wall mounted' housing that could be desk mounted if you can sacrifice it being pop-up.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	u3.jpg 
Views:	43 
Size:	36.6 KB 
ID:	6603

    Finally there's a Gewiss desktop mounted enclosure...again not pop-up however.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	u4.jpg 
Views:	36 
Size:	42.6 KB 
ID:	6604

    *edit*
    I forgot one;
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	u5.jpg 
Views:	26 
Size:	59.1 KB 
ID:	6605
    This one does your pop-up thing and it comes pre-assembled with modules etc but it's got more sockets on it than you wanted. The list price of the M103-SA is about a grand
    _______________________________________________
    I am special and so is Vanash.
    _______________________________________________

  5. #5
    Diamond Member AndyD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Cape Town
    Posts
    4,672
    Thanks
    542
    Thanked 887 Times in 717 Posts
    If none of the above are suitable let me know and I'll trawl through a couple more catalogues for other options.
    _______________________________________________
    I am special and so is Vanash.
    _______________________________________________

  6. #6
    Gold Member Sparks's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Port Elizabeth
    Posts
    857
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 119 Times in 94 Posts
    I see now they are being called "pop ups". Used to be docking stations. The same thing though. They are multiplugs which are plugged in somewhere under the countertop. They are not required to be switched.

Similar Threads

  1. SA to get new electrical sockets, plugs
    By adrianh in forum Technology Forum
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 10-Mar-17, 04:52 AM
  2. Black crabtree plug sockets
    By ians in forum Electrical Contracting Industry Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 16-Nov-12, 08:13 PM
  3. crabtree plug sockets
    By murdock in forum Electrical Contracting Industry Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-Aug-12, 10:10 PM
  4. atx sockets
    By bergie in forum Electrical Contracting Industry Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-Apr-12, 12:56 AM

Did you like this article? Share it with your favourite social network.

Did you like this article? Share it with your favourite social network.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •