Thread: How does profit share work in this instance

Thanks

How does profit share work in this instance

Hi All. I am very new to this, so please bare with me.

I am in the process of joining a business. Lets for ease call this company DC Trading. The company is a PTY and currently is owned 100% buy one person.I currently work for a listed corperate company. Dc trading does alot of work for the company I work for currently ( 90% of his order book). The reason that I have been offered to go into business with DC trading is that they would like me to get new business.

originally, I was going to buy 30% of the business, however this has changed as it would cost me too much. The idea now is as follows: I will join the company as an employee, recieve a salary with benefits and buy 10% equity in the business. This is where it gets tricky...we are then going to do a 60%/40% profit share in my favour on any NEW BUSINESS that comes in through me. My questions are below:

LETS PRESUME THAT FOR THE NEXT FINANCIAL YEAR, DC TRADING TURNS OVER R50 000 00, HAS A GROSS PROFIT OF R30 00 000 AND NETT PROFIT OF R600 000 ( FIXED COSTs of R2400000 for the year INCLUDING MY COST TO COMPANY OF R30000.00) -THIS EXCLUDES ANY NEW BUSINESS I BRING IN
    NEW BUSINESS TURNS OVER R1000000, HAS A GROSS PROFIT OF R600000.00 AND NETT PROFIT OF R240000.00 ( ONLY FIXED COSTS RELATING TO THIS NEW BUSINESS IS MY COST TO COMPANY OF R360000.00- ALL CURRENT FIXED COSTS FOR DC TRADING REMAIN THE SAME)
    THEREFORE - 60% OF R240 000 = R144000 for me and 40% of R440000.00 = R96000 goes to the other partner?
    QUESTION 1.

Provided that DC TRADINGS monthly fixed costs only go up by my cost to company ( R30000.00 per month) and nothing else increases, is the profit share as calculated above correct?

QUESTION 2.