Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • tec0
    Diamond Member

• Jun 2009

No the video had nothing to do with drunk driving “that time” but I have seen more than enough drivers consuming beer while driving “not at the club not at home” while actually driving their car.

My thinking started “what if we can get people to realise that it is a bad idea. Then one of the largest companies in South Africa handed out breathalyzers to their staff and almost that same week I saw a definite attitude change in “some people” They keep their devices safe and use them at their homes.

This showed me that when a person can see “right I did sleep I feel better but the little light is still red” they asked someone to drive them. This happened and continues to happen. So really that company spend their money wisely.

Some got themselves a more expensive model and keep it underneath there bar at home. When they see the measurement they stop switch over to none alcoholic drinks and they really put in the effort.

To your mind this might be a waste of time and money. To my mind “what I have seen” and was told by friends showed me that people really do want to keep themselves out of trouble. I am not delusional it will not eradicate accidents it will not stop people from drinking and driving. But it will help some people and that is more than good enough for me.

It comes down to your mindset. You can make it work OR you can ignore it.
    peace is a state of mind
    Disclaimer: everything written by me can be considered as fictional.

Comment

• tec0
      Diamond Member

• Jun 2009

Originally posted by pmbguy
      Hey tec0, I will buy you a drink at the launch and at your victory party
      I don't consume alcohol... Haven't touch the stuff in years.
      peace is a state of mind

Comment

• pmbguy
        Platinum Member

• Apr 2013

Tec I know from your previous posts that you don’t really drink allot. So I think that you personally are reasonably responsible when you drink. With this assumed responsibility have you ever really had the need to breathalyse yourself? And would this actually change any event that followed? If it did to which greater good really? I am more speaking about the doubt I have personally as to whether such an effort is good or bad, other stuff like "drunk taxi" will be much more effective. Perhaps put your efforts in another van for the big plan. To stop negative shit caused by alcohol. What do think?
        It is not the strongest of the species that survive, nor the most intelligent, but the one most responsive to change. – Charles Darwin

Comment

• pmbguy
          Platinum Member

• Apr 2013

Originally posted by tec0
          Haven't touch the stuff in years.
          Kak man don't lie now hey boet, I bet you clutching a papsak as we speak!
          It is not the strongest of the species that survive, nor the most intelligent, but the one most responsive to change. – Charles Darwin

Comment

• tec0
            Diamond Member

• Jun 2009

Originally posted by HR Solutions
            Most companies do this. In fact it is quite formal . From the words of an excellent example (Trump) You're fired !

Personally I am not going to help any staff by giving them a gadget to test themselves.
            Then we should give them HIV testing kits to test themselves after they have had a good shag to see if they have been invected so they don't go out there and kill anyone else !

Its all about responsibility again which we spoke about on another thread (and disagreed about) . Take responsibility for yourself. Its the same as a pilot. He knows that if he is flying the next day he is not allowed to drink !! He does not need to blow his gadget to see if perhaps he might be below the limit so its ok to fly !
            Actually I can see you have little to no experience when it comes to larger companies. If you did the above post wouldn't exist. Larger companies have personnel that can aid in the test for HIV. The tests is not mandatory for the most part but they highly recommend it because the company needs to know otherwise they cannot protect you against someone with HIV and the person with HIV can't protect there fellow workers and so on.

There are many programs at the moment to help control HIV and other STD's. Companies do try hard to keep there asset "the employee" healthy and safe. After all what if I am employed and I get HIV accidentally at my work place?

What if my work involves sharp objects what if one of those objects have an infected persons blood on it. What if I used it unknowingly and cut myself? What did you do as a employer to aid in my health and safety. I recall a case at a supply store where one of the employees cut themselves accidentally. So YES it does happen and is one of the main reasons why PPE is so very important and why real and true health and safety is not a joke or a waste of money.

But if you really want to get technical do your employees use any type of protection against "paper cuts" for example? Don't feel bad if you don't a lot of people don't... But forget the employees just for a moment. What if it is you that get the "paper cut" and you work with the public and someone "you don't know who" have small insignificant injury and oops...

But some people do take small cuts very seriously, if you Google it you would see why

As for the device, If I can get it going... "BIG IF" I think it would be cool.
            peace is a state of mind

Comment

• tec0
              Diamond Member

• Jun 2009

Kak man don't lie now hey boet, I bet you clutching a papsak as we speak!
              How much money are you willing to lose?
              peace is a state of mind

Comment

• pmbguy
                Platinum Member

• Apr 2013

Everything!

Comment

• HR Solutions
                  Suspended

• Mar 2013

******* Sigh ****** tec once again you have read wrong. I am not talking about what companies do. I am talking about handing out gadgets !!! Believe me I am totally familiar with the law.

But whatever tec. If you want to start again, find someone else. I am just going to take some advice from an esteemed member on this forum and agree with you and say if you want to think you are right then ok YOU ARE RIGHT.

Comment

• tec0
                    Diamond Member

• Jun 2009

Everything!
                    Well then obviously I am not drinking now so YOU LOSE.

But I don’t know if there is a test I can do that will date when last I had a drink? And remember now we are not testing for natural occurring alcohol. Normally the body produces a bit. So do I go to the dock for a blood test first or do I send you my bank account number.
                    peace is a state of mind

Comment

• tec0
                      Diamond Member

• Jun 2009

******* Sigh ****** tec once again you have read wrong. I am not talking about what companies do. I am talking about handing out gadgets !!! Believe me I am totally familiar with the law.

But whatever tec. If you want to start again, find someone else. I am just going to take some advice from an esteemed member on this forum and agree with you and say if you want to think you are right then ok YOU ARE RIGHT.
                      hehehehe, worried about those "paper cuts" are we.... yea it is evil if you think about it...

what was that about a good shag and HIV

I am just saying

peace is a state of mind

Comment

• HR Solutions
                        Suspended

• Mar 2013

Oh yes I am "terrified".

PS. I really don't give a sh!t to be honest with you.

Comment

• tec0
                          Diamond Member

• Jun 2009

Oh yes I am "terrified".

PS. I really don't give a sh!t to be honest with you.
                          lol ag nee shame man don't take it like that... All in good fun... All I am saying is some businesses do others don’t. It’s not a crime... Large businesses as you know spend a hell of a lot of money on training and education so obviously they want the best for their investment. It is cool to see and I support it. It is cool programs to have...
                          peace is a state of mind

Comment

• HR Solutions
                            Suspended

• Mar 2013

Every business has certain obligations to their staff and to the community. Our company is no different. We recently spent an entire weekend at a Rape Crisis Centre physically refurbishing it and then more. So personally I really don't give a damn what one or two people do say. Its not what people think or don't think that matters, it is what you actually do in the workplace and for the community that matters, nothing else !

Comment

• pmbguy
                              Platinum Member

• Apr 2013

Hey HR did you shag tec0’s girl or something, what is going on between you two? Can’t we all just get along

Comment

• Dave A
                                Site Caretaker

• May 2006

Originally posted by tec0
                                it will not eradicate accidents it will not stop people from drinking and driving. But it will help some people and that is more than good enough for me.
                                Good enough for me too, frankly. I'm inclined to agree that just having the tool there means some people will use it. Probably quite a few even.

It certainly makes at least as much sense to me than this proposal to ban all alcohol advertising that's currently doing the rounds - probably more so.

Change who you can and understand that at the end of the day the "die-hards" are just that - they're going to need a sledgehammer blow to change their ways.
                                Participation is voluntary.

Alcocks Electrical Services | Alcocks Pest Control & Entomological Services | Alcocks Hygiene Services

Comment

Working...