X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • pmbguy
    Platinum Member

• Apr 2013

FISHING

Hey Dave A don’t you think it’s about time for a fishing thread?

Here is a photo of my cousin holding a 17.3kg Carp he nailed with 4.5kg braking strain. He caught this bugger in the Umzimvubu near Cedarville. The kid next to him only speaks Xhosa.

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG-20130809-00349.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	93.2 KB
ID:	269019

I have lost all my photos along with my old busted hardrive, but I will post pictures of my future fresh water victories.
    It is not the strongest of the species that survive, nor the most intelligent, but the one most responsive to change. – Charles Darwin
  • adrianh
    Diamond Member

• Mar 2010

You mus come to de kjape, we jus catch krabs in die plein

Comment

• pmbguy
      Platinum Member

• Apr 2013

What you using for bait?
      It is not the strongest of the species that survive, nor the most intelligent, but the one most responsive to change. – Charles Darwin

Comment

• adrianh
        Diamond Member

• Mar 2010

naai broer, die laaitjies hulle gooi boomslang, maar onse gangstas hang sommer onse anacondas se koppe met die een oog uit by die corolla se tinted glass!

Comment

• tec0
          Diamond Member

• Jun 2009

Fishing is fun hey, I like to go to Loskop dam its nice there or it used to be haven't been there in ages...
          peace is a state of mind
          Disclaimer: everything written by me can be considered as fictional.

Comment

• adrianh
            Diamond Member

• Mar 2010

We used to go fishing when I was a teenager. We would pack enough fishing gear so that our parents would believe that we are going fishing. When we got to the river we would toss all that fishing junk next to a tree, crack open the beers and spend the day with Charles Glass.

Comment

• tec0
              Diamond Member

• Jun 2009

Jy noem dit “ons gaan vis vang en probeer hengel” Ja nee kyk we use to take Mampoer ish bas hy skop hy skop dood.
              peace is a state of mind

Comment

• pmbguy
                Platinum Member

• Apr 2013

Indeed, I believe this technique to be rather successful for the fish on the plain. This refined method works up the school of fish well, once I feed the spot a bit they get worked up and then I deploy my lure and they eat it up greedily.

Comment

• adrianh
                  Diamond Member

• Mar 2010

Very true, you must be referring to blowfish!

Comment

• tec0
                    Diamond Member

• Jun 2009

ok for normal fishing I use a Mielie bom to create a feeding spot then my supper secret bate AKA "SPAR bread dough" and make little wormy bate out of it. Never ever had a problem catching something.
                    peace is a state of mind

Comment

• pmbguy
                      Platinum Member

• Apr 2013

Originally posted by adrianh
                      Very true, you must be referring to blowfish!
                      No, all fish

Fishing is moistly about being competent with your equipment and having a vast knowledge of the pray species. Understanding of habitat, conditions and behaviour is vital. You make your own luck on the lake.

Comment

• tec0
                        Diamond Member

• Jun 2009

Originally posted by pmbguy
                        No, all fish

Fishing is moistly about being competent with your equipment and having a vast knowledge of the pray species. Understanding of habitat, conditions and behaviour is vital. You make your own luck on the lake.
                        I don’t like live bait or rotten egg bait or all that stuff... killing little things just isn’t my style. I like to use dips and some homemade worms or just those rubber worms work very well. But I normally just don’t care much... My philosophy is don’t try too hard... Keep it simple...
                        peace is a state of mind

Comment

• adrianh
                          Diamond Member

• Mar 2010

Ah, so what you put in you get out - It is most important to put in often because you will be rewarded with blowfish, goldfish, guppies but you have to keep an eye open for old wrinkly smelly snoek and also the odd ice cold jellyfish.

Comment

• tec0
                            Diamond Member

• Jun 2009

I think we are a world apart on this one... I really do want to try and catch a marlin but the sharks normally get him before you can release it.
                            peace is a state of mind

Comment

• pmbguy
                              Platinum Member

• Apr 2013

Originally posted by tec0
                              ok for normal fishing I use a Mielie bom to create a feeding spot then my supper secret bate AKA "SPAR bread dough" and make little wormy bate out of it. Never ever had a problem catching something.
                              When I fish for Carp I will always have one or 2 rods with a bomb on it. The trick is to keep your rod in the water forever with a bomb, they will come. I also like using boilies and floaties on their own whilst fishing a pre baited spot. I have ample supply of earth worms too if I need. I must admit that Bass fishing is my first love, but I fish for all freshwater species. Bass, Trout, Carp, Babel, Scalie, Tilapia, etc etc even a bluegill here and there. I don’t have massive experience in sea fishing but I love it too
                              Fishing makes me happy

Comment

Working...