Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Adobe Reader X also installs McAfee anti-virus

  1. #1
    Site Caretaker Dave A's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Durban, South Africa
    Posts
    20,977
    Thanks
    3,055
    Thanked 2,462 Times in 2,067 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12

    Adobe Reader X also installs McAfee anti-virus

    I just did the upgrade of Adobe Reader to the latest version, and discovered that Adobe Reader X also installed McAfee Anti-virus.

    As if my poor old laptop doesn't run slow enough with one AV on board
    The trouble with opportunity is it normally comes dressed up as work.

  2. #2
    Gold Member Chrisjan B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    GEORGE
    Posts
    610
    Thanks
    234
    Thanked 72 Times in 65 Posts
    As far as i remember there should be an option not to install McAfee in the setup wizard. Maybe your poor laptop is also giving you a message: Please send me on retirement!

    BOVER Technologies
    - computer sales and TeamViewer support
    Elmine Botha Freelance Photographer - Photographer/ Videographer

  3. #3
    Diamond Member AndyD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Cape Town
    Posts
    4,400
    Thanks
    513
    Thanked 854 Times in 687 Posts
    Lol, won't this be illegal under the new Consumer Protection Act?
    _______________________________________________
    I am special and so is Vanash.
    _______________________________________________

  4. #4
    Gold Member Chrisjan B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    GEORGE
    Posts
    610
    Thanks
    234
    Thanked 72 Times in 65 Posts
    Which part - Adobe installing McAfee or me trying to sell Dave a new laptop?

    BOVER Technologies
    - computer sales and TeamViewer support
    Elmine Botha Freelance Photographer - Photographer/ Videographer

  5. #5
    Site Caretaker Dave A's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Durban, South Africa
    Posts
    20,977
    Thanks
    3,055
    Thanked 2,462 Times in 2,067 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by chrismine View Post
    As far as i remember there should be an option not to install McAfee in the setup wizard.
    Yep - that's what I would have expected, but I don't recall any options along the way relating to installation of third party add-ons. Unfortunately I was also doing two things at once, which I freely concede I'm not particularly good at.
    The trouble with opportunity is it normally comes dressed up as work.

  6. #6
    Full Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Durban
    Posts
    59
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    There should be an Opt Out - although they are making it more and more cryptic these days. Or simple uninstall the software.

  7. #7
    Gold Member Martinco's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Rustenburg
    Posts
    927
    Thanks
    175
    Thanked 136 Times in 108 Posts
    Same story with Skype. The upgrade installs a plug-in into Googles GMail that results in one not being able to use the GMail phone call facility, which is free to the USA.
    As soon as you open the phone icon, it opens Skype and for that call you have to pay.
    I got the plug-in uninstalled though and I am back on line with GMail.

    I do not know what these guys think.......or maybe they are not thinking at all !
    Martin Coetzee
    Supplier of Stainless Steel Band and Buckle and various fastening systems. Steel, Plastic, Galvanized, PET and Poly woven.
    We solve your fastening problems.
    www.straptite.com

    You may never know what results will come from your actions, but if you do nothing, there will be no results... Rudy Malan 05/03/2011

  8. #8
    Gold Member Mark Atkinson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Durban, South Africa
    Posts
    796
    Thanks
    212
    Thanked 150 Times in 117 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12
    There's definitely an option not to install McAfee. I remember it. Don't remember exactly where but I'm sure there is one.

    I can be so sure because I have Adobe Reader X and there is no McAfee on my system.
    "The way to gain a good reputation, is to endeavor to be what you desire to appear." - Socrates
    Mark My Words - Arbitrary thoughts on ordinary things

    LinkedIn | Twitter

    Bafokke Shirts - South Africa's No. 1 Fan Shirt!

  9. #9
    Gold Member Sparks's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Port Elizabeth
    Posts
    823
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 110 Times in 88 Posts
    If you selected "easy or default" installation it will do that. You should have used "custom" installation. Not serious, you can just uninstall. Either with it's own uninstaller or better windows uninstall programs or best with an independent uninstaller like the free "Revouninstaller" which will give you a choice of the level of removal. If you wish to reinstall later it will keep registry entries but should you want it permanently removed with all it's little bugs it will scan after running the removal for them. It is surprising how many programs leave stuff behind when you uninstall them. A good registry cleaner is also a must have.
    You only need uninstall Mc Affee.
    Last edited by Sparks; 30-Jul-11 at 02:43 PM. Reason: Clarity

Tags for this Thread

Did you like this article? Share it with your favourite social network.

Did you like this article? Share it with your favourite social network.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •