Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: GP wire

  1. #1
    Full Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    KZN
    Posts
    61
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    GP wire

    Good day,
    would gp wire be acceptable to install in p8200 trunking without any covers for example in a shop for light circuits? Im use to running such wire in conduit and am a bit consurned about the safety aspect of running this type of wire in this trunking?

  2. #2
    Diamond Member AndyD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Cape Town
    Posts
    4,344
    Thanks
    508
    Thanked 849 Times in 682 Posts
    GP wire is insulated but unsheathed so I'd say it should be in trunking with a lid. You can get both plastic and steel lid options for p series trunking.
    _______________________________________________
    I am special and so is Vanash.
    _______________________________________________

  3. #3
    Full Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    KZN
    Posts
    61
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    How would I go about convincing my boss to buy covers for steel trunking that is on an existing installation?

  4. #4
    Platinum Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    KZN
    Posts
    1,574
    Thanks
    76
    Thanked 138 Times in 118 Posts
    Why not just run twin +e in the trunking...then you don't need covers?

  5. #5
    Full Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    KZN
    Posts
    61
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Client requested it to be done with gp wire

Similar Threads

  1. [Question] Plug circuit's neutral wire is 1.5mm, cb amp rating?
    By hartdev@hotmail.com in forum Electrical Contracting Industry Forum
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 23-Mar-16, 08:14 PM
  2. No earth wire!
    By Dave A in forum Electrical Contracting Industry Forum
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 02-Jan-16, 08:47 PM
  3. Is it common to find too-thin wire in an installation?
    By berndj in forum Electrical Contracting Industry Forum
    Replies: 43
    Last Post: 10-Aug-10, 07:44 AM
  4. US bank wants my "clearing code" for wire transfer
    By leuce2 in forum Business Finance Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-May-10, 12:18 PM

Did you like this article? Share it with your favourite social network.

Did you like this article? Share it with your favourite social network.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •