Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: Telkom

  1. #1
    Platinum Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    KZN
    Posts
    1,587
    Thanks
    76
    Thanked 138 Times in 118 Posts

    Telkom

    OOOOPS, due to industrial action we can no longer offer any services.

    Due to high call volumes, take the day off and get a flask because you are in for a long wait. We will try answer your call by 2016

  2. #2
    Platinum Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    KZN
    Posts
    1,587
    Thanks
    76
    Thanked 138 Times in 118 Posts
    Thank God, finally after 2 long years of the worse mobile network, I got to hand in my 30 day notice.

    I thought virgin mobile was the worse mobile service available, until i signed up with telkom mobile (8 ta) what a waste of time and money. The package deals sound too good to be true, if you could get any service or edge and above you lucky.

    When you have all network data, you still ok, because you get to use other network towers, if you run out of all service data or purchase data bundles you need to be a very patient person and live in an area which has at least edge. They talk LTE but it is not possible with telkom mobile. IF you sit in the telkom shop at the pavilion where you can sign a deal. IT is about the only place you will ever see a full signal and 3 G on your mobile device.

    They have sent technicians out to identify bad network areas, but as they indicated unfortunately they are new to the mobile industry and you will need to be patient.

  3. #3
    Silver Member bones's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Pretoria
    Posts
    223
    Thanks
    73
    Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
    i am very happy with Telkom
    best provider i ever had did
    a speed test for you

    i use the big bundle prepaid
    data with the d-link dongle

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	telkom.jpg 
Views:	41 
Size:	56.1 KB 
ID:	5435

  4. #4
    Silver Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    durban
    Posts
    413
    Thanks
    121
    Thanked 61 Times in 52 Posts
    Bones, having read Ian's post, you have to be squatting at one of the Telkom shops

  5. Thanks given for this post:

    bones (24-Mar-15)

  6. #5
    Silver Member bones's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Pretoria
    Posts
    223
    Thanks
    73
    Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by flaker View Post
    Bones, having read Ian's post, you have to be squatting at one of the Telkom shops
    rofl

    im a telkom spy but cant
    complain got good speed
    other networks suck

  7. #6
    Platinum Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    KZN
    Posts
    1,587
    Thanks
    76
    Thanked 138 Times in 118 Posts
    The only place I can get 4 bars and 3 G is in the shop at the Pavilion. I have been with Telkom mobile for 23 months now. If i can get 2 bars with edge I feel lucky.

    To attempt to sort out the issues telkom have replaced the Iphone and replaced the sim card with the correct sim cards not even cut ones just in case. They have even sent out technicians to try identify the problem areas. The response after numerous attempts. " We are new to the mobile industry and therefore you should just be patient" 23 months later, good bye.

    Thanks to the slow service i have become a slow payer, the problem is that I dont get to penalize them, but they just add a R 365 reconnection fee everytime i decide to pay slowly

  8. #7
    Platinum Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    KZN
    Posts
    1,587
    Thanks
    76
    Thanked 138 Times in 118 Posts
    Attempted to do a speed test with wifi switched off The screen shows a message ..."Network communication issues"

    With wifi switched on

    download 1.72 Mbps

    Upload 0.40 Mbps

  9. #8
    Platinum Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    KZN
    Posts
    1,587
    Thanks
    76
    Thanked 138 Times in 118 Posts
    Tried again with wifi switched off...

    second attempt

    latency test failed

    third test

    ping 136 ms

    download 0.89 Mbps

    upload 0.16 Mbps

    Test carried out in the middle of Pinetown.

    4 th attempt

    ping 445 ms

    download 0.36 Mbps

    upload 0.24 Mbps

    It is a joke.

  10. #9
    Platinum Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    KZN
    Posts
    1,587
    Thanks
    76
    Thanked 138 Times in 118 Posts
    Bones is in Pretoria, that could also explain why, isnt that where all the Telkom bosses live?

  11. #10
    Platinum Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    KZN
    Posts
    1,587
    Thanks
    76
    Thanked 138 Times in 118 Posts
    The last time I contact the big boss of Telkom and gave him a piece of my mind he was in Pretoria. IT is amazing how you speak to the right person shit happens. After that call my phone line was already installed by the time I got to the office, back in the day when people actually gave a shit about customers.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Telkom AGAIN
    By popayetwo in forum Technology Forum
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 16-Apr-13, 01:22 PM
  2. telkom
    By murdock in forum General Chat Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-Apr-11, 07:38 AM
  3. Is it me or Telkom?
    By popayetwo in forum Technology Forum
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 10-Jul-10, 05:13 AM
  4. Telkom con
    By Marq in forum Scam Alert Forum
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 20-Feb-09, 07:59 AM
  5. Telkom DSL the best!
    By I Robot in forum Technology Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-Sep-06, 05:54 AM

Did you like this article? Share it with your favourite social network.

Did you like this article? Share it with your favourite social network.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •