Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: welding plugs

  1. #1
    Silver Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    cape town
    Posts
    297
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 42 Times in 36 Posts

    welding plugs

    a 3 phase socket outlet that is only used for a welding machine. should it be on earth leakage? its a dedicated plug for the welder, but it's still a normal 4 pin plug.

  2. #2
    Diamond Member AndyD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Cape Town
    Posts
    4,403
    Thanks
    513
    Thanked 854 Times in 687 Posts
    0142 states any plug and socket must be on rcd. This would include a three phase welder socket. If you change the socket for a t/pole isolator and hard wire the cable into it then RCD protection is then optional.
    _______________________________________________
    I am special and so is Vanash.
    _______________________________________________

  3. #3
    Silver Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    cape town
    Posts
    297
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 42 Times in 36 Posts
    the single phase plug with flat earth doesnt have to be on earth leakage ,so if i use the 3 phase plugs with the guide pin which is off centre then it should be fine as a dedicated plug .

  4. #4
    Diamond Member AndyD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Cape Town
    Posts
    4,403
    Thanks
    513
    Thanked 854 Times in 687 Posts
    Hmmm, I'm not sure off hand if you could run a welder on a 'red type socket' without an RCD or not.
    _______________________________________________
    I am special and so is Vanash.
    _______________________________________________

  5. #5
    Gold Member Sparks's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Port Elizabeth
    Posts
    826
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 110 Times in 88 Posts
    6.7.5.2 Industrial type single-phase and three-phase socket-outlets
    (including "welding" socket-outlets) shall comply with the requirements of
    SANS 1239 (SABS 1239), and, except as allowed in 6.7.5.5 and 7.10.1.6,
    shall have earth leakage protection if the circuit is intended to supply portable
    or stationary class I appliances.

    A dedicated circuit may be installed without ELCB protection for a fixed appliance provided it is labelled as such.

    A 3phase appliance which also utilises the neutral for control gear must have 4poles to comply with the regs.

  6. #6
    Silver Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    cape town
    Posts
    297
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 42 Times in 36 Posts
    i went to site to do the inspection and i see the plugs are on earth leakage protection,but i queried the 80 amp c/breakers.,but afterwards i added 25 % onto 63 amps then its very close to 80 amps. i must just check the cable size.theres 36 circuits so it will be a bit expensive to do mods.

  7. #7
    Bronze Member mikilianis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Cape Town South Africa
    Posts
    124
    Thanks
    164
    Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
    Hi bergie not wanting to be sounding ignorant but what is the 25% for

  8. #8
    Gold Member Sparks's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Port Elizabeth
    Posts
    826
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 110 Times in 88 Posts
    Am also baffled, but don't know whole story so I just left it.

  9. #9
    Silver Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    cape town
    Posts
    297
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 42 Times in 36 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sparks View Post
    Am also baffled, but don't know whole story so I just left it.
    i havent looked in the book for exact reference,but the circuit breaker+cable size for socket outlets is restricted to 125% of the rating of the socket outlet.
    16 amp s/o = 20 amps,2,5mm
    32 amp s/o = 40 amp 6mm wire
    and then the 63 amp s/o = 79 amps (close enough to 80 amps)
    there are 16mm cables installed,which can supply 80 amps under certain conditions.
    so i accepted it on principle so far.

  10. #10
    Gold Member Sparks's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Port Elizabeth
    Posts
    826
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 110 Times in 88 Posts
    I see what you are looking at. Just keep in mind that you are not just limited as to the current you can supply to a socket outlet but also remember that your cable has a limit and that limit governs the max for your circuit breaker. The circuit breaker would also normally have a 5% tolerance unless you use a speciffically designed CB with a higher tolerance or delay for high startup demand applications.
    In a nutshell let the circuit gauge guide your choice of CB strength and if that is not high enough for you, put in another circuit. Also, do not expect a circuit carrying max capacity to last. I am sure you do not ride around in first gear all day. Don't forget to check the kVA rating as well.
    You spoke of 36 circuits, are they all welding circuits? How many welders will actually be used at the same time max? What is the max consumption at the busiest time? What is the max load for each circuit? There is a lot to take in consideration to get it right. A plug circuit is not just a plug circuit.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Did you like this article? Share it with your favourite social network.

Did you like this article? Share it with your favourite social network.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •