Thread: How to braai boerewors ( It's Saturday, lets relax )

How to braai boerewors ( It's Saturday, lets relax )

This may be controversial but this is how I have been doing it for years.

If you have not been doing it like this, you don't know what you're missing.

Stefaans was our army chef and when it comes to meat and boerewors, there are few people around that can teach him anything.

Just had a couple of lads around and they could not believe what happened in front of them in less than 5 minutes.

Try it. In the flames. The hotter the better. Works every time.

Peace out ... Derek

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v9hmN4WHnlo

Tried to edit the spelling in the heading. Won't allow me to. Saturday

Thanked 2,676 Times in 2,257 Posts
    Also handy if you are in a rush!

Diamond Member
    When I was working lines ... we would stop at the butchery and buy wors ... onions ... tamatoe ... a block of butter and fresh unsliced hot bread ... the spade was cleaned and the fire started before tea ... one of the tool boys in the gang ... had the job of cooking the wors in the spade everyday.

Doing line work was one of the better jobs I have done.
    Comments are based on opinion...not always facts....that's why people use an alias.

Quote Originally Posted by Dave A View Post
    Also handy if you are in a rush!
    That's the whole point.

With wors, if you aren't in a rush, it ends up being dry.

We like it juicy. Like Stefaans says, when you bite a piece off the end, you must bend over forward or you'll mess on your shirt.

He calls it Bukwors for a reason.

Thanked 2,676 Times in 2,257 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Derlyn View Post
    With wors, if you aren't in a rush, it ends up being dry.
    Not the way my one boet does it. Twist sealed ends. The most delicate handling so as not to damage the casing. And so low and slow, it would go quicker in a warmer drawer
    Smoked rather than braaied, I'd say.

I prefer Stefaan's approach. Pretty sure it'll taste way better too

Quote Originally Posted by ians View Post
    When I was working lines ... we would stop at the butchery and buy wors ... onions ... tamatoe ... a block of butter and fresh unsliced hot bread ... the spade was cleaned and the fire started before tea ... one of the tool boys in the gang ... had the job of cooking the wors in the spade everyday.

Doing line work was one of the better jobs I have done.
    Yes Ian.

Brings back good memories. We used to stay in a " caboose " while doing line work.
    How many know what a caboose is ?

The wors then was decent. Not the rubbish one now buys in supermarkets.

I, presently get my boerewors specially made to my recipe by a butcher.
    I make it worth her while. Order 20Kg at a time.
    Doesn't come cheap, but tastes the same as it did 40 years ago.

Peace out .. Derek
    Last edited by Derlyn; 17-May-21 at 08:50 PM.

Being of Pom origin I usually go with porkies rather than boerie.... and before the slating begins when I take porkies to a braai there's moaning left right and centre but I guarantee you they're the first things to disappear out of the meat pot when the braaiing is finished if not during the cooking.

I've had plenty of boerie in my time and when it's good it's a thing of beauty, problem for me is lack of consistancy. You can buy it from a butcher one week and it's absolutely superb, the next week...same boerewors... it's different and a disappointment. Even the high end boerewors that's hand made on the premises to an award winning recipe is rarely consistent over time. I used to have a friend who made his own boerewors, to him it was a religion and he thought nothing of travelling 300 km to go get the meat from the farm. I always used to buy from him and it was consistant, juicy and delicious but unfortunately he passed away which cast me adrift back into the local supermarkets and butcheries when buying boerie and has ended up with me going back to the safer option of porkies as a rule.

Diamond Member
    Then you ge tthe pokers ... throw the wors ...porkers and stab them full of holes.

Ever since we invested in an air fryer ... things have just started tasting better ... wors and porkers and cheese grillers (my favourite) in the air fryer is like a lamp roast in a cobb.

If we wanted juicey meat ...it was done in the cobb ... but since the air fryer ... only the lamb is done in the cobb.
    Comments are based on opinion...not always facts....that's why people use an alias.

Quote Originally Posted by AndyD View Post
    Being of Pom origin I usually go with porkies rather than boerie.... and before the slating begins when I take porkies to a braai there's moaning left right and centre but I guarantee you they're the first things to disappear out of the meat pot when the braaiing is finished if not during the cooking.

I've had plenty of boerie in my time and when it's good it's a thing of beauty, problem for me is lack of consistancy. You can buy it from a butcher one week and it's absolutely superb, the next week...same boerewors... it's different and a disappointment. Even the high end boerewors that's hand made on the premises to an award winning recipe is rarely consistent over time. I used to have a friend who made his own boerewors, to him it was a religion and he thought nothing of travelling 300 km to go get the meat from the farm. I always used to buy from him and it was consistant, juicy and delicious but unfortunately he passed away which cast me adrift back into the local supermarkets and butcheries when buying boerie and has ended up with me going back to the safer option of porkies as a rule.
    Andy, you are correct. Since making this post, I have been to a couple of communal braais and have seen the same. Porkies are first to go from the meat pot.
    I decided to buy some and both my wife and I were pleasantly surprised.
    They have become a regular on the Saturday afternoon braai on the Webber Q100. The best gas braai in the world by far.

Thanks for the heads up, brother.

Peace out ... Derek

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20210703_161320.jpg 
Views:	101 
Size:	77.2 KB 
ID:	8247

Never buy wors (or meat ) that is on a special! You never know what goes into it.
    If you want quality meat, be prepared to pay for it.

Every braai master has his own secrets, but I think we all agree that a braai is much better than a barbecue.
    Excellence is not a skill; its an attitude...