Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Work from home scams

Thanks

Thumbs up Work from home scams

I have just come across this from the DTI and I found it useful when 'recruiting' - I have been an Annique consultant from many years and often come across people that are scared of MLM (multi-level marketing). I have found recently that many people have been “burnt” by work at home opportunities – this article helps cover these issues and explain how your MLM business is not a ‘work from home’ scam - provided it is a company that is resgitered with the DSA.

Consumer Alert

Work from home opportunities

This communication alerts the media, business and the public about scams or unfair business practices, prohibited in terms of the Consumer Affairs (Unfair Business Practices), Act 71 of 1988. This Consumer Alert pertains to the prohibition of Work from Home Opportunities

What are work from home opportunities?

Work from Home Opportunities relate to the offer of opportunities to consumers such as typing, filling in and addressing envelopes, gathering of names and addresses and the compilation of data from a consumer's home in exchange for a monetary consideration.

How it is done?

Promoters of these scams target people seeking extra income. Instead of helping people make money, the scammers use various tricks to take the victims` money and leave them with nothing of value. Consumers are issued with information on how to make money instead of the actual employment.

An advertisement would request consumers to start a business from home, upon responding to an advertisement, consumers are directed by promoters to deposit a sum of money into the promoter's account, instead of being offered a job. Some schemes sell information of no value. Some pretend to provide skills, which turn out to be unmarketable, and other schemes rely on recruiting or luring others into joining for the work, which they supposedly offer.