Thread: Direct Marketing and the Consumer Protection Act

Thanks

Direct Marketing and the Consumer Protection Act

Hi all

I've noticed that the concept of Direct Marketing is widely covered in these forums (although I can't find the specific thread on the topic that sparked this post).

I am no expert on the Consumer Protection Act (CPA) but I do believe that the Act will have far reaching consequences, especially with regard to Direct Marketing. I know it's gonna clutter the post but see section 16 of the CPA below, especially subsection 3.

Consumer’s right to cooling-off period after direct marketing
    16. (1) This section does not apply to a transaction if section 44 of the Electronic
    Communications and Transactions Act applies to that transaction.
    (2) To the extent that this section applies to a transaction or agreement, it is in addition
    to and not in substitution for any right to rescind a transaction or agreement that may
    otherwise exist in law between a supplier and a consumer.
    (3)A consumer may rescind a transaction resulting from any direct marketing without
    reason or penalty, by notice to the supplier in writing, or another recorded manner and
    form, within five business days after the later of the date on which—
    (a) the transaction or agreement was concluded; or
    (b) the goods that were the subject of the transaction were delivered to the
    consumer

It appears from the above that in certain instances, where direct marketing is used, a customer can resile from a contract which s/he has enterred into within a 5 day period.

I am also no businessman but would imagine that such a provision coupled with the very common "buyers remorse" may become a nightmare to the salesperson who uses Direct Marketing as a tool.

Would be interesting to hear different opnions?

Thanks

Thanks
    Thanked 2,676 Times in 2,257 Posts
    Blog Entries
    Quote Originally Posted by fuad View Post