Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What are the benefits of registering your small business?

Thanks
    Thanked 2,676 Times in 2,257 Posts
    Blog Entries

What are the benefits of registering your small business?

This article has me begging the question - what are the benefits of registering your micro/small business?
    THERE are more than six million small businesses in South Africa but only 17 percent are registered because their owners do not know the benefits of doing so, a national survey has revealed.
    full story from The Sowetan here
    I hear rumours of state-funded financial assistance programs - wouldn't know where to find one. Are there any other real benefits that offset the freedom of being in the "informal sector?"

The story also gives a pile of stats which as a small business owner myself I find more appalling than surprising or shocking. For example
    Entrepreneurs work about 63 hours a week.
    and for most of us (especially given the hours) the pay isn't that hot either.

"Poor exploited civil servants" that go on strike for far-above-inflation pay increases think they have it tough - try being a small business entrepreneur!
    Last edited by Dave A; 20-Sep-10 at 03:00 PM.

Diamond Member
    Thanks
    63 hours a week - must be half day workers...

Gold Member
    Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by Dave A View Post
    This article has me begging the question - what are the benefits of registering your micro/small business?
    Not many in my opinion. For the micro guys I wouldn't bother. The only 2 reasons I can think of off hand are:

1) Where there is more than one business owner" who will be pooling resources (money, time , expertise, etc) into the venture.
    2) Where you want an element of protection from losing your personal assets in the event of business failure.

Suspended
    Thanks