Thread: Generators

Thanks

Generators

Hey everyone..

I'm new to this but i have a few questions.
    If you have an average 4kw Generator, what is the maximum "torque" needed to keep running the gen on ful power and at what RPM??

Thanks

2. Thanks given for this post:

mikilianis (24-Aug-10)

Thanks
    Hi g20313225, welcome to TFSA.

Can you give some more info about your question? You say you have a 4 KW generator, this would normally be labeled as a 4 KVA generator. Can your generator give a 4KVA output constantly or would this be the maximum power for a short duration?

Also you are looking for the maximum torque (τ max) in newton meters (Nm) is this a school or university type calculation? Torque is a simple product of a force being applied at an angle but can be a very complex calculation.

Are you perhaps looking for a required shaft power in Kilowatts so you can specify a correctly sized engine to drive the generator?

4. Thanks given for this post:

mikilianis (24-Aug-10)

Thanks
    Hey thanks for the reply..

This would be the Maximum power.. Yes I'm looking for the shaft power in Kilowatts so that i get the correct engine thanks very much..

6. Thanks given for this post:

mikilianis (24-Aug-10)

Thanks
    Okay, I'm going to make a few assumptions. Single phase genset, 4KVA constant output with max short delivery of 5KVA driving an AC 1or2 load, (not large induction motor start current rated). I'm also assuming direct drive from the primary drive on the crank so minimal transmission losses. If you have a gearbox or belt and pulley system you'll need to upsize by around 20% to compensate.