Thread: Rental losses - carried forward if absent from SA?

Thanks

Red face Rental losses - carried forward if absent from SA?

I purchased an investment property in South Africa a number of years ago, while I was still working in South Africa. Every year, when submitting my personal tax return, I claimed the rental loss on the property as a deduction from my normal taxable income. The rental loss was calculated by subtracting the mortgage interest from my rental income. This used to result in me receiving a tax refund every year.

I have been working in the UK for the last 2 years, and therefore had no taxable income in South Africa for the last 2 years. I still have the investment property and continued to incur a net loss (rental income less mortgage interest), but I have not been able to claim this against anything due to not having taxable income in SA.

My question is, when I return to South Africa next year, will I be able to set off all the losses on this property for the past 2 or 3 years against my taxable income when I start working again in South Africa? In essence, if the losses are not used in a particular year, are they carried forward?

Thanks
    Thanked 2,678 Times in 2,259 Posts
    Blog Entries
    By my understanding, you can't carry over accumulated tax losses into the subsequent tax year as an individual. However, you can as a company.

3. Thanks given for this post:

wiehahn (27-Apr-10)

Thanks

Reply from SARS

SARS gave me this exensive reply. It appears that they look at every case on its merits. The question of whether the loss is carried forward in an individual's name was not addressed, but from the previous reply on this thread it appears not.

Deduction of rental expenses:

In all instances, rental income will fall into gross income and then will be subject to taxation. However, this does not mean that rental expenses will be allowed in the computation of taxable income.