Thread: Testing employees for Drugs

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    Thanks

Testing employees for Drugs

Hi

I am a manager at a restaurant and I suspect one of our kitchen staff of being on drugs. He shows all the signs, red eyes, lack of concentration and a general demeanor that fits with drug use. This employee was not always like this, the change has come about in the last few months. We do not have a written contract with this employee so I am unsure if I can just test him. And if I do, do I just fire him on the spot?

How would I go about a test?

Thanks in advance for any answers

Platinum Member sterne.law@gmail.com's Avatar
    Thanks
    Blog Entries
    Hello -
    I will respond in more detail later, with particualr regard to testing procedures etc, etc.
    As to the fire on the spot, that can of course never happen. You will in all probability need to go through the incapacity procedures. Drug dependency is the equivalent of alcholism.

This link will take you to my blog with an article on breathalyzerand lie detector tests which have similiar requirments a sdrug testing.
    Anthony Sterne

www.acumenholdings.co.za
    DISCLAIMER The above is merely a comment in discussion form and an open public arena. It does not constitute a legal opinion or professional advice in any manner or form.

Email problem
    Thanks
    Let me ask you this from the outset - Does your employer have a disciplinary code in place regarding the use of alcohol or narcotics or reporting for duty under the influence of alcohol or narcotics?

If you do not have such a code in place, you will not be able to take disciplinary action against the employee.