Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: standard bank

Suspended
    Thanks

standard bank

i have been banking with standard bank for about 10 years.

until march this year i was rated as a low risk good customer according to my bank manager...reasons never overdrawn on my account...progressively growing my turnover etc etc.

i have a house financed with them...motor vehicles...bank overdrafts etc etc.

then suddenly at the end of march i made a slip...i transferred R12000.00 from one standard bank account to another standard bank account...to make sure i had adequate money in my bussiness account for end of month debit orders because i wasnt sure if the customer would pay in time.

the catch was i only did the transfer at 7.45 pm...so in the morning as i always do i log to standard bank to make sure all is well...i was pleased to see the customer had paid and the money i transfered also reflected and the debit orders had all gone through.that was the 1 april 2009

on the 2 april 2009 i logged on in the morning bank account looked great...

on the 3 april 2009 i logged on i noticed a returned item and of course a R115.00 fee for unpaid item.

so i contacted the bank to find out what was going on...i was told that because i had transfered the money after 7 pm it did not reflect on my account nor did the customers payment...so my account went overdrawn by R136.00 so they returned one debit order at midnight when the debit orders ran.

so i asked but this is bad for my account blah blah...they told me because i was such a good customer and had never had a problem with my account it was a minor issue.

well thats what i also thought...7 days later i received a letter in the post to advise me that due to my "bad conduct of my account" and the economic situation in the world at the moment they would have to withdraw my cheque clearance authourity...in other words when i deposit a customers cheque i now have to wait 7 days for clearance.