Thread: Electric fences

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    Thanks

Electric fences

Hi is there anyone out there who can explain to me how electric fenceing works say from installation to maintainance different systems etc.
    be pleased if someone could enlighten me I like to know how things work
    thanking you all.
    mike.

Thanks
    Well Mike,

I am not an expert but have installed an electric fence around my living complex.

The parts consist basically of the following:

The energizer,
    meters and meters of special braided s/steel wire,
    Insulators
    Steel uprights
    High Tension wire

The normal setup is to have 6 strands mounted via the insulators to the uprights in turn bolted to your wall. ( This can vary )

On the Energizer you have a signal ( High voltage ) terminal, a return terminal and an earth terminal.*

You start at the energizer and feed the wire from the high voltage terminal first via some HT insulated wire to the first post closest to the energizer to the 5 th insulator ( from the bottom ) and all the way around the property, make a return via the 2 nd insulator back to the energizer also using HT wire to connect to the return. Do not cut the wire when you do the turnabout at the furthest point. You now have a continuous wire from high voltage to return on the energizer.
    Similarly you feed another set of wires to the top insulator and return via the 4 th insulator and again via the bottom insulator and return via the 3 rd one.
    You now have 4 wires hanging loose at the energizer which you connect to the earth terminal PLUS you have to drive an earth spike into the ground close to the energizer and run an earth wire to the same terminal as the other 4 wires. Make sure you also use HT wire to run from the fence down to the energizer. The wire for the earth spike can be normal copper earth wire.