Thread: The evolution of management?

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    Thanks

The evolution of management?

In the past few months I have been thinking of management styles, techniques and plain and simple the profile of a manager in the dawn of a new era. This might seem like a fairly boring statement but In my opinion, management and especially the profile of a manager has changed dramatically.

I am one of those people that didn’t study management at all. When I left the SAPS as an instructor I was shaped into being a manager that told people what they should do and they simply had to do it. In the years that followed I had the privilege to work with great people such as Jorge Ferreira from Protea Coin and other great leaders. I suddenly saw a whole new world of leadership and took note of those skills I felt I needed to enhance and learned from their good qualities.

The next obvious step was to look at the management skills that were required to ensure a low personnel turn over and a team that delivered quality service and professional skills. In my career I have been through the curve ball many times. Put into a position to lead graduates and highly intelligent, dynamic and professional individuals, but I also got those that were perception managers that simply fooled everyone including myself to believe that they were outstanding managers.

A few months ago I realized that I have been running after a personal goal so intensely that I completely missed a very obvious and definite change that took place within the management industry. Successful managers have changed! From what I perceived to be the qualities for an ideal manager has transformed without me even realising it has done so.