Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Understanding a Sunsynk inverter

Platinum Member
    Thanks

Understanding a Sunsynk inverter

Note! I am no expert in this field, what's called winging it, feel free to steer me in the right direction or correct any incorrect information.

I am busy preparing to setup and 5 kva Sunsynk inverter, which will be linked to a 5 kwh battery and a couple of panels.

Lets start with the panels selection.

Now that I know what inverter I will be using, I can choose the panels.

The Sunsynk has 2 MMPT inputs, which means I can connect 2 strings.

For now I will be only using 1 of the 2 mppt's.

How many panels can I install, I would need to look at the inverter specs

PV String Input Data

Max. DC Input Power 6500W
    PV Input Voltage 370V (100V~500V)
    MPPT Range 125~425V
    Full Load DC Voltage Range 240~425V
    Start-up Voltage 150V
    PV Input Current 11A+11A
    No. of MPPT Trackers 2
    No. of Strings Per MPPT Tracker 1+1

What would I look at first, the current rating of the panel, if the current rating of the panel is 550 watt, 13 amps and the VOC is 40 volts. Can I use this panel for this inverter? no. Why because the current is too high for the inverter (11A).

I would have to look at a smaller panel, lets say 380 watt, 10 amps and 40 VOC. Can I use this panel? Yes, because the current is within the inverter current range.

How many panels can I link in series to create a string? The max V for the inverter is 500V, but you dont wan to go to the max so working within the MPPT range would be as better option. 425/40=10.6. It would be advisable to use 10 panels.

The max DC input is 6500 watt, 10 panels at 380 watt = 3800 watt.

IF you plan to use both MPPT's to the max, it would be better to fit 8 panels per string which would give you 3040watt X 2 = 6080 watt.