Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Home electrical safety devices

Thanks

Home electrical safety devices

Hello all. Recently we had our very old Heinemann ELCB replaced with an RCCB without overload protection. The lack of overload protection made me wonder if we really have all the needed electrical safety devices.

I'm not an electrician and I'm working from the assumption that everything I thought I knew about electricity is wrong. I am a total noob when it comes to electricity. I have a few questions I'm hoping you'll be able to answer.

The installation...

We have 3-phase power.

We don't have access to the municipal meter box on the sidewalk. Its post-paid power.

Here is our own meter box on the outside of the house. There used to be a switch/breaker in that opening below the round window, but was replaced by the switchover device on the left we had installed to connect the generator.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	1_Own_meterbox.jpg 
Views:	132 
Size:	73.2 KB 
ID:	8523

Name:	2_Switchover_model_nr.jpg 
Views:	126 
Size:	42.8 KB 
ID:	8524

Here is the distribution board and the newly installed RCCB.

Name:	3_DB.jpg 
Views:	126 
Size:	38.1 KB 
ID:	8525

Name:	4_RCCB.jpg 
Views:	137 
Size:	46.2 KB 
ID:	8526

Here is the old ELCB we had replaced. Pressing the test-button didn't trip the switch. Electrician confirmed the device is faulty. I couldn't find out if it had built-in overload protection.

Name:	5_ELCB.jpg 
Views:	179 
Size:	97.0 KB 
ID:	8527

My questions...

(I love full detailed explanations, so please don't hesitate to elaborate)

1) I understand the new RCCB won't protect against short-circuits (live wire touching neutral) or any other situation where too much power flows through (unless the difference between the live and neutral is 30 milliAmps or greater), correct?