Thread: Diesel tank earthing above ground

Bronze Member
    Thanks

Diesel tank earthing above ground

Hi guys, I have to go out and quote on a diesel storage tank earthing. Now I assume it will be for lightning which means a risk assessment must be done and soil resistivity must be done to calculate the appropriate earthing needed. Now firstly, I’m not a master electrician, just an installation electrician. I’m 100% sure this would fall under a master electrician’s description correct? Would you do this earthing installation if the installation comes with drawings and specs provided by the electrical engineer even if you are not a master electrician? And what if the specs tells you the Earth conductor size they want to be used etc without any risk assessment done to show that X amount of Earth rods must be installed at X meter deep or a Earth ring must be installed.

Platinum Member
    Thanks
    The earthing of a diesel storage tank would fall under Hazardous areas and SANS 10089-2 would come into play along with a couple of others

The earthing is not straight forward and takes into account static , cathode , lightning etc

If you are doing the work under the supervision of a Master electrician than I don't see a problem.
    Ensure that you make it clear that you cannot sign off a coc for the installation.

Pasted some of the references to earthing from SANS below

8 Cathodic protection
    8.1 General
    8.1.1 Impressed current cathodic protection systems are widely used in the petroleum industry to
    prevent corrosion and are described in more detail in SANS 10121.
    The use of cathodic protection in the petroleum industry for the prevention of corrosion of tanks and,
    pipelines, manifolds, sea lines, jetties, etc., could introduce hazards when this method of corrosion protection
    is used in hazardous locations.

9 Requirements for earthing and bonding
    9.1 The equipotential earthing system