Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Which sport is more popular in SA - Rugby or Cricket?

Thanks

Which sport is more popular in SA - Rugby or Cricket?

Being from the U.K., I am wondering which sport, Rugby Union or Cricket, now has the strongest following in SA?

Also I have very little knowledge of SA Football and would be pleased if someone could point me towards a good blog or commentator.

Diamond Member
    Thanks
    I know absolutely nothing about such things - hopefully someone else can tell you more.

Thanks
    We have a stereotyped view of South African men as keen on sport; this stereotype has been confirmed by my experience and so it is good to meet someone who doesn’t conform to it. My understanding is that Rugby and Cricket are widely played in schools on SA and so you must have had them foisted on you at some stage. I enjoyed the former but was rubbish at the latter.

Diamond Member
    Thanks
    I went to an Afrikaans primary school and an English high school. The primary school was big into rugby and the boys didn't play much else. The high school that I attended played soccer and cricket.

My dad was an orthopedic surgeon and he despised rugby with a passion - reason being that he continually had to treat schoolboys with broken necks and serious injuries mostly due to collapsed scrums and high tackles.

I can watch international soccer (football) because I find it to be a very fast tactical sport.
    I don't like rugby - its such a stop start thing - kick the ball out that side - stand around - run to the other side - bash a guy, crawl around holding onto one another pants - break a neck, kick a ball out on the other side - stand around again...doesn't flow.
    Cricket - walk up - knock a ball - have tea - stand around - scratch your nuts - chat - throw a ball - run a bit - have tea.....not for me.

Thanks
    Blog Entries