Thread: Wiring a Home DB with 2 phases

Thanks

Lightbulb Wiring a Home DB with 2 phases

Hi All,

I recently had an electrical issue where the live and neutral shorted out at the pole outside the house and it got me digging a little deeper in to my home DB.
    I'm no electrician, but I have a pretty good understanding of how wires should be and I like to know exactly what's happening in my house considering it's an investment.

I have a pretty old house, that has two phases coming in and a neutral.

Currently the Main DP switch breaks these two phases and then the neutral goes straight to the Earth Leakage.
    From what it looks like, one phase goes to the Earth Leakage, the second goes to the Light Arrester.

The Earth Leakage phase (P1) then provides power to the plugs in the household and the Light Arrester phase (P2) provides power to the lights, geyser, stove and Sub DB (Gate/Garage).

This seems a little off to me, but as I said, I'm no expert here.

Should I be getting a 3 Pole Main Switch to break both phases and the N?
    Should I have a Leakage Switch for each phase individually?

Of course I'll be pulling in my electrician to do all the wiring correctly, but I'd just like to understand how it all should work as well.

Thanks in advance,
    Cheers

Thanks
    I have yet to come across a 2 phase supply to a house. It's either single or 3 phase. What council meter do you have ? Single or 3 phase ?

Derek

Thanks
    It's a 3 Phase meter.

Definitely only two phases and a neutral coming in

Thanks
    Can you post a couple of pictures maybe?

Platinum Member
    Thanks
    Hi

I have come across 2 phase and neutral supplies in older areas .Was a common type of supply in the " old Days" . The book is written to accommodate such instances and hence the reason they refer to as multi phase.
    It is no longer common practice and normal is defined in the Regs as a 5 wire supply.