Thread: Becoming an electrician????

Thanks

Becoming an electrician????

Good day,

I'm hoping I could get some help here. Google is full of contradicting articles so I'm a bit confused.

I am currently a teacher but I also want to become an electrician (childhood dream) which could also function as a part time job.

I registered for my N1 this week and would like to know a few things. I need to finish up to N3 right? As a minimum?
    I registered at Intec college as they provide this as a distance course, seeing as though I live in Steynsburg with no college within a 300km radius.
    After I finish my N3, do I still then need to do an apprenticeship?
    Will I be allowed to write the trade test?
    Will I be allowed to write the SANS 10142-1 national exam?

I am really struggling to understand this whole process...

What I basically want to know: What do I need to do (In order) to become a qualified electrician.

Platinum Member
    Thanks
    Hi

I am no expert in the process but have put guys through the system.
    You will need N3 maths to write Trade test - You can also do a module system through a training centre but that would mean time away from your present job.
    You will need 3 years practical experience on a registered learner contract or 5 years and you can write trade test
    The SANS 10142-1 exam you can study and write at any stage but with a bit of practical will be easier to understand and pass

Thanks
    Blog Entries
    Although I only have academic qualifications, I have always wondered why there would be such a stigma to doing technical courses. In retrospect I would swop anytime.
    A qualified artisan in my view is someone who facilitates positive outcomes by repairing things or building new ones. (my theory on builders and breakers in a community) I see an apprenticeship as a paid university where you earn as you learn, whereas attending an academic university is costly and has to be funded, not earning anything.