Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Am I authorized to move meter

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Location
    Port Elizabeth
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Am I authorized to move meter

    Hi guys

    New on forum. Hoping to learn alot.

    I've just recently registered my own electrical contracting company.
    Am qualified with Wireman's licence.

    Am still working full time for my employer, hoping to start doing jobs over weekends and once I got enough work then work for myself full time.

    So my question.
    A potential client wants me to quote to rewire their house db. It is one of those very old ones that consist of the wooden frame with breakers mounted on it. The old municipal meter is mounted on it aswel.

    I will need to remove meter temporarily to install and rewire new db.
    Am I as an electrical contractor authorized to remove meter/move meter?

    Regards
    Ross

  2. #2
    Silver Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    Port Elizabeth
    Posts
    377
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 93 Times in 77 Posts
    Hi
    As an electrical contractor you do not automatically have permission to move the meter - If you break the seals you will be guilty of tampering or at least the owner will/could be accused of tampering .

    You will need to put in forms at Munilek requesting a site visit and or quotation

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Location
    Port Elizabeth
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks for reply GCE.

    Just another question.
    I need to replace about 50 downlights with new ones for a different job.
    The client wants a coc for that.
    Can I issue a coc for ONLY the work that I did?
    If so.. Do I not do the loop, psc tests etc.. Just leave blank?

  4. #4
    Silver Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    Port Elizabeth
    Posts
    377
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 93 Times in 77 Posts
    Hi

    Technically the light fittings are not part of the installation and therefore a COC does not need to be issued - Have a look at note 3 on the test report.
    If he insists on one , carry out the loop test , voltage etc - It will cover you as well .If the LED's , I am assuming , pop then at least you know the voltage and neutral was ok at time of installation .
    I would stipulate on the COC that I changed out light fittings only and did not alter any wiring.

Similar Threads

  1. time to move on
    By murdock in forum General Chat Forum
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 30-Sep-12, 09:54 AM
  2. Should I move from BB?
    By Neville Bailey in forum Technology Forum
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 15-Aug-12, 07:14 PM
  3. IT on the move
    By Soundinmind in forum Technology Forum
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-Jul-11, 10:39 AM
  4. Server move
    By I Robot in forum Administrative issues
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-Jan-07, 09:45 AM
  5. Server move
    By I Robot in forum News Archive
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-Jul-06, 12:47 PM

Did you like this article? Share it with your favourite social network.

Did you like this article? Share it with your favourite social network.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •