Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: VoV generators connected to DB

Thanks

VoV generators connected to DB

Hi all

Im looking for guidence re connecting my generator to my db. Its a honda eg6500 5.5kva. I heard that this is probably a vov generator and therefore its got a live L and N @ 110v each. Issue therefore being one cant bond the N&E as apparently my fridge will then bite me as its earthed. I also know the earth leakage wont trip as the 110v live wont trigger it as its currently set up

There arnt any VOO 5.5kva gensets that i could find..and putting in a large diesel genset is overkill plus it would stand and idle so that has its own issues plus the high costs

What im trying to find out is how can i SAFELY connect my gen to my db. I have a transfer switch etc already wired but the whole VOV earthing thing seems to be an issue

Id like someone that really knows their stuff to please guide me on the below ( english please im not an electrician )

- What are the risks running it as is? I know most people are running their generator as i am today
    - Can one change the alternator on the genny to one that is VOO. If so what make and where can i get this done in gauteng? Engine is honda gx390
    - will an isolation transformer (watever that is? ) solve the issue ito safety ( not burning the house down,removing the risk thay someone could get shocked )
    - finally - some.people comment one can modify the generator by removing centre taps and all kinds of things - who can tell me if this can be done on my genset to make it VOO?

I would greatly appreciate help wrt the above

Thanks!

Thanks

Generator advice

Hi*all. Im looking for advice on setting up my generator to my db. We have constant power*outs*due to cable theft so i need a solution