Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Pastel 12 Xpress in W10 ( previously W7) not able to open a company ??

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Location
    Cape Town
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Pastel 12 Xpress in W10 ( previously W7) not able to open a company ??

    Hi, I have tried a few options obtained from similar questions (P11) but regrettably I am still not having any joy?
    If my new laptop has a different reg server name to my old pc would that make any difference?
    I am concerned that if I rename the new laptop to same name as my old laptop then my Pastel new registration will not agree and will I then have to uninstall and re-register??
    Appreciate some assistance . Many thanks.

  2. #2
    Bronze Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Location
    Johannesburg
    Posts
    124
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 26 Times in 23 Posts
    The Pastel registration is PC name specific. If you have installed on a new pc, you will have to complete the registration on the new pc (either as a stand-alone, or as a workstation) before you will be able to add companies in the File ... Open menu.
    Are you able to add the company - File - Open - Add Company - Browse to folder and double click it, then click ok and close. Does the company now appear in the Open Company dialogue box?
    What errors are you getting when adding companies?

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Location
    Cape Town
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hi Kevin, Thanks for responding.
    I did the Pastel registration on the new pc but when I get to the folder containing the coy ( from backup on old pc) it does not let me click OK to open?

  4. #4
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Location
    Cape Town
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    HI Kevin,
    Many thanks again for your wonderful speedy and professional help.
    For info to other folks , my problem of being unable to open the company was largely due to my original Pastel Xpress package being V12.1.1 and in the interim it had 2 updates to V12.1.6.
    These updates needed to then be run to get pastel back to 12.1.6 to be able to read the company backup.
    Great to be able to get back on with the job on my new pc!

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 17
    Last Post: 23-Nov-18, 03:57 PM
  2. PASTEL XPRESS - OPEN COMPANY WINDOW SHOWS 2 COMPANIES
    By Coolblue in forum Accounting Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 19-Jul-16, 08:20 AM
  3. Pastel Xpress - Can not open companies/locate server
    By J7J in forum Accounting Forum
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 17-Sep-15, 09:35 AM
  4. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-Nov-13, 01:01 PM
  5. [Question] How to create open balances when changing to Pastel Xpress?
    By fuzegraphics in forum Accounting Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-Dec-12, 01:14 PM

Did you like this article? Share it with your favourite social network.

Did you like this article? Share it with your favourite social network.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •