Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Huawei E3372s USB Dongle not connecting to the internet

  1. #1
    New Member Nefarious777's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Johannesburg
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Huawei E3372s USB Dongle not connecting to the internet

    Hello everyone.

    I have been using a Huawei E3372s-153 USB Dongle for sometime now. However, today I plugged it into my computer but to my surprise it has stopped functioning. The computer picks it up because the light flashes green. But other than that nothing happens. Can anyone please assist me with this problem. Would formatting my computer make a difference?

    Thank you.

  2. #2
    Diamond Member Mike C's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Durban
    Posts
    2,647
    Thanks
    226
    Thanked 353 Times in 309 Posts
    Hi Nafarious777,

    Re-formatting your computer seems to be a bit drastic! Are you sure that it is the dongle that no longer works or has the SIM card not expired? I know that some providers cancel a sim card if it is not used once every 6 months.
    People will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel. - Maya Angelou

  3. Thanks given for this post:

    Nefarious777 (08-Aug-19)

  4. #3
    Bronze Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    east london south africa
    Posts
    125
    Thanks
    24
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
    The dongle should have installed some software on your computer so that you can determine whether its active or not ( the sim ). Formatting should be the last option. Plug and play items such as these do install drivers maybe clear the drivers and then reinsert. Have you tried it on another computer ?
    Graphic Design company in East London South Africa | Web design company in East London South Africa
    " A plumbers tap always leaks " - Great advice from a forum member

  5. Thanks given for this post:

    Nefarious777 (08-Aug-19)

  6. #4
    New Member Nefarious777's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Johannesburg
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hello Mike C

    The sim card has not expired because it works when inserted into other devices like my phone and another dongle.

  7. #5
    New Member Nefarious777's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Johannesburg
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hi

    Yes I have tried it on other computers but the same things happens. The light flashes green and nothing more happens. It does not install any software. Before I experienced this problem I would plug the modem in and without installing any software a browser interface/dashboard would open. Microsoft Edge opens as the default dashboard. I have installed Mobile Partner but it does not detect the dongle. Nor does MDMA detect it. I did a network reset but that did not help either.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	dashboard.jpg 
Views:	17 
Size:	19.1 KB 
ID:	7603   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	dashboard.jpg 
Views:	14 
Size:	18.9 KB 
ID:	7604  

  8. #6
    Bronze Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    east london south africa
    Posts
    125
    Thanks
    24
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
    So sims is not the problem, Its not limited to your computer which tells me in all likelihood your computer isnt the issue, Network is fine... maybe its the actual device that ihas become faulty, i know with routers Hauwei ones they tend to give up every two years or so im not sure about dongles. Did you ever try it with another sim card?
    Graphic Design company in East London South Africa | Web design company in East London South Africa
    " A plumbers tap always leaks " - Great advice from a forum member

  9. #7
    Platinum Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    1,457
    Thanks
    201
    Thanked 79 Times in 75 Posts
    It could be the Cell C coverage in the area...
    Did you try in a different location?
    Also check the coverage map on the Cell C website...

Similar Threads

  1. [Article] The intention to destroy Huawei
    By PlatinumWealth.co.za in forum General Chat Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 29-May-19, 10:14 AM
  2. [Question] Connecting 2Kw sinewave inverter to DB board
    By SilverNodashi in forum Electrical Contracting Industry Forum
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 26-Mar-19, 10:45 PM
  3. Connecting gas stoves
    By ians in forum Electrical Contracting Industry Forum
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 15-Jan-15, 05:49 AM
  4. Connecting UPS to a DB board
    By Justloadit in forum Electrical Contracting Industry Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 14-Aug-14, 07:34 AM
  5. how can I connecting a samsung galaxy s3 to a playstation 3
    By league_of_ordinary_men in forum Technology Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 29-Oct-12, 06:20 AM

Did you like this article? Share it with your favourite social network.

Did you like this article? Share it with your favourite social network.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •