Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Electrical cable advice

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    Thanks

Electrical cable advice

Hi it's Shaneo here, I'm an electrical contractor on the South Coast and would appreciate some advice on what size electrical cable to use from the Eskom box to a single phase 63A DB board for a domestic installation (4 bedroom house). The distance from the box to the house is 160m and the cable will be buried. I've been looking at the voltage drop tables but not 100% sure if I'm understanding it correctly. Not sure whether to go with 16mm ECC or 25mm ECC, Thanks.

Platinum Member
    Thanks
    Hi

I am assuming that the Eskom CB is 63 Amp feeding the installation and that it is not a 80 Amp supply feeding a 63 Amp isolator in the DB.

I have found that it is best to use SANS 10142 tables to determine the cable distances vs Amps needed especially on single phase .I have attached the page for reference.

I would go with 25 sqmm
    Attached Files Attached Files

Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by GCE View Post
    Hi

I am assuming that the Eskom CB is 63 Amp feeding the installation and that it is not a 80 Amp supply feeding a 63 Amp isolator in the DB.

I have found that it is best to use SANS 10142 tables to determine the cable distances vs Amps needed especially on single phase .I have attached the page for reference.

I would go with 25 sqmm

Thank you for your advice GCE, I think I will go with the 25 sqmm cable.

I have another quoestion related to the same property.....
    As I mentioned, the Eskom box is 160m from the house, but only 10m from the gate and I need to get power to the gate for the electric gate motor. Can I run 2 cables from the Eskom box, one up to the house (160m) to feed the house DB board and one to a weather-proof DB at the gate (10m)? Or do I have to run another 160m of cable back to the gate from the house DB board?