Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: adding trading as t/a

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Location
    gauteng
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    adding trading as t/a

    Hi
    How do i change a Company's name to add " trading as" on CIPC.
    TIA

  2. #2
    Silver Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Johannesburg
    Posts
    356
    Thanks
    22
    Thanked 93 Times in 82 Posts
    Hi Anu, you can't. As matters presently stand, you just add the Trading As part, unless of course you change the registered name.

    Of more significance is to get your bank to add the trading name, so that customers can pay either or.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Location
    gauteng
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Thank you. I wasn't sure whether the bill was passed from CPA. My client's Supplier is insisting on the t/a to reflect on their registration documents.
    I'll advise my client . Ta

  4. #4
    Site Caretaker Dave A's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Durban, South Africa
    Posts
    21,508
    Thanks
    3,115
    Thanked 2,503 Times in 2,106 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by ANU View Post
    My client's Supplier is insisting on the t/a to reflect on their registration documents.
    Perhaps your client's supplier is referring to the CIPC registration of defensive names.

    There is a requirement to register business names with The Registrar (CIPC) where it is not the name of the person (jusristic or natural) in terms of the CPA. However, there are exceptions - particularly for trading names that were already in use before commencement of the CPA.
    The trouble with opportunity is it normally comes dressed up as work.

    Alcocks Electrical Services | Alcocks Pest Control & Entomological Services

  5. #5
    Silver Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Johannesburg
    Posts
    356
    Thanks
    22
    Thanked 93 Times in 82 Posts
    Hello Dave,

    The defensive name provision has been suspended since a couple of years ago. Even then, it never appeared on any CIPC disclosure of the owing company. On a letterhead or other document, you had to refer to it and it's number which was DN and then some digits. It was also only valid for two years, if memory serves me.

  6. Thanks given for this post:

    Dave A (14-Jan-19)

  7. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Location
    gauteng
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Thank You

  8. #7
    Silver Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Johannesburg
    Posts
    356
    Thanks
    22
    Thanked 93 Times in 82 Posts
    Actually, it seems that the registration of Defensive Names has been changed to a manual process.

    The particular issue of Trading As names under the Consumer Protection Act of 2008 seems to still not be implemented. This notice was issued by CIPC in June 2012 and I can find no change.
    http://www.cipc.co.za/index.php/download_file/781/1023/

  9. #8
    Site Caretaker Dave A's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Durban, South Africa
    Posts
    21,508
    Thanks
    3,115
    Thanked 2,503 Times in 2,106 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by Andromeda View Post
    The particular issue of Trading As names under the Consumer Protection Act of 2008 seems to still not be implemented. This notice was issued by CIPC in June 2012 and I can find no change.
    http://www.cipc.co.za/index.php/download_file/781/1023/
    I was aware of the relief from requirement to register business names provision in Schedule 2 of the Act - I had no idea the Minister had failed to set an effective date as yet!
    Last edited by Dave A; 17-Jan-19 at 07:57 AM.
    The trouble with opportunity is it normally comes dressed up as work.

    Alcocks Electrical Services | Alcocks Pest Control & Entomological Services

  10. Thanks given for this post:

    ANU (18-Jan-19)

  11. #9
    Platinum Member AmithS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    1,285
    Thanks
    182
    Thanked 70 Times in 66 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Andromeda View Post
    Hi Anu, you can't. As matters presently stand, you just add the Trading As part, unless of course you change the registered name.

    Of more significance is to get your bank to add the trading name, so that customers can pay either or.
    My understanding is that the name you use when making payments is not taken into account with banking systems. Only the bank account number...
    I understand what you saying thou that the customer will see both names on the bank details confirmation from the bank.

Similar Threads

  1. forex trading - International FX Trading company
    By gucci in forum Business Finance Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 30-Dec-12, 11:21 PM
  2. [Question] Adding Lessor as a supplier
    By jackie.white in forum Accounting Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 22-Jun-12, 01:27 PM
  3. Adding Google Adsense
    By duncan drennan in forum General Business Forum
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 06-Mar-08, 12:23 PM

Did you like this article? Share it with your favourite social network.

Did you like this article? Share it with your favourite social network.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •