Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 26

Thread: Cable sizing for a stove.

  1. #11
    Silver Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Germiston, South Africa
    Posts
    275
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 36 Times in 33 Posts
    Using this same procedure the max amperage for a 6mm cable is 41 amps.

    Sent from my SM-G570F using Tapatalk
    To make a mistake is human, to learn from that mistake is knowledge and knowledge is strength.

  2. #12
    Silver Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Germiston, South Africa
    Posts
    275
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 36 Times in 33 Posts
    I've been looking at the wrong table. Using table 6.3(a) the max current for the 2.5mm cable is 23 amps using installation method 2. Same solution though, needs to be protected by a 20 amp cb.


    Sent from my SM-G570F using Tapatalk
    To make a mistake is human, to learn from that mistake is knowledge and knowledge is strength.

  3. #13
    Silver Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Germiston, South Africa
    Posts
    275
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 36 Times in 33 Posts
    The maximum for 6mm is 3 8 amps unless you surface mount the cable

    Sent from my SM-G570F using Tapatalk
    To make a mistake is human, to learn from that mistake is knowledge and knowledge is strength.

  4. #14
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Durban
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Leecatt View Post
    You are correct the max rating depends upon the installation method.
    According to your diagram the cable is a 2.5mm twin core and earth and is to be installed into conduit on a wall.
    This means I have to refer to table 6.2(a), installation method 2.
    The maximum current is limited to 24 amps.
    In my world this requires a 20 amp circuit breaker for protection not a a 25 amp.




    Sent from my SM-G570F using Tapatalk
    In this case you are 100% correct in selecting the 20A breaker. I thought you were saying it is incorrect (under any conditions) to use a breaker that is more than 20A on a 2.5mm2 cable, because in other methods a 25A C/B can then be used to protect a 2.5mm2 cable.

  5. #15
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Durban
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Let me clarify my problem here:

    I've got burners and an oven.
    Burners rated current=25A
    Oven rated current= 15A
    Total rated current=40A

    I wanna use 1 cable (Multicore PVC Insulated cable, unarmoured, one two-core cable, single phase) to supply power to both the oven and the burners.

    Lenght of cable from DB to isolator is 6meters and from the isolator to the burners and oven is less than a meter

    Installation method to be used is Method 2.

    When I select a cable for this installation I find that a suitable cable for this combined load is a 10mm2 protected by a 45A C/B. Now, i've never seen a 10 mm2 used for a stove before. Am I right with this cable size for a stove? Am I right in using the combined maximum rated current (40A) in sizing this cable? Where am I missing it?
    Last edited by @SamboLindoh; 30-Oct-18 at 03:20 PM. Reason: Colour used to highlight some words not visible

  6. #16
    Silver Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Germiston, South Africa
    Posts
    275
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 36 Times in 33 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by @SamboLindoh View Post
    Let me clarify my problem here:

    I've got burners and an oven.
    Burners rated current=25A
    Oven rated current= 15A
    Total rated current=40A

    I wanna use 1 cable (Multicore PVC Insulated cable, unarmoured, one two-core cable, single phase) to supply power to both the oven and the burners.

    Lenght of cable from DB to isolator is 6meters and from the isolator to the burners and oven is less than a meter

    Installation method to be used is Method 2.

    When I select a cable for this installation I find that a suitable cable for this combined load is a 10mm2 protected by a 45A C/B. Now, i've never seen a 10 mm2 used for a stove before. Am I right with this cable size for a stove? Am I right in using the combined maximum rated current (40A) in sizing this cable? Where am I missing it?
    This is a good exercise as it has made me revisit those darned confusing tables.
    Now I see them in a second light and it's all fallen into place.

    If you use single core cables inside of conduit instead of a multicore cable, as you said you were going to install conduit, then your rating changes.
    The rating for a 6mm single core cable, installation method two, becomes 41 amps. Table 6.2(a)

    Normally the conduit and Flexi conduit will run from the distribution board into the oven and the rest of it is joined together with internal cables which usually have those heat-resistant cables and plugs.

    Sent from my SM-G570F using Tapatalk
    To make a mistake is human, to learn from that mistake is knowledge and knowledge is strength.

  7. #17
    Diamond Member AndyD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Cape Town
    Posts
    4,676
    Thanks
    543
    Thanked 887 Times in 717 Posts
    Maybe I missed something here, from the opening post I thought this was a discussion around the trailing cable recommendation in the manufacturers instructions, I didn't realize you're asking about installing the entire circuit from the DB.
    _______________________________________________
    I am special and so is Vanash.
    _______________________________________________

  8. #18
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Durban
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hi Leecatt,

    Thank you for your insight

  9. #19
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Durban
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hi AndyD,

    No problem, thanks for your participation.

  10. #20
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Just an observation and a subsequent question. In Canada we use the wattage information for load calculations when it is on the nameplate data. Also one of the things happens a lot here is manufacturers of the tops and oven are different and the two are not designed to be connected to the same circuit as there is no approved overload devices between the units to prevent the top from drawing too much current from a breaker that would be to large for the top itself. The question is are you allowed to load a breaker and conductor to 100% in a residential application? Here the breaker is not allowed to loaded to more the 80% in residential but the conductor can be loaded to 100%. In commercial the breaker and conductor must be sized to 125% Do you do anything like that?

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. [Question] Sizing of Electrical components
    By @SamboLindoh in forum Electrical Contracting Industry Forum
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 16-May-16, 12:08 PM
  2. Sizing Batteries for inverters
    By Tonye in forum Electrical Contracting Industry Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 24-Feb-16, 11:43 AM
  3. gas stove connection
    By ians in forum General Chat Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-Feb-15, 11:44 AM
  4. COC for a gas stove
    By ians in forum Electrical Contracting Industry Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 23-Jan-15, 01:24 AM
  5. [Article] Exe cable glands for braided cable
    By Master Electrician in forum Electrical Contracting Industry Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 26-Aug-10, 02:47 PM

Did you like this article? Share it with your favourite social network.

Did you like this article? Share it with your favourite social network.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •