Thread: No earthing required?

Thanks

No earthing required?

Hi Guys
    I recently went to a client's house to quote on renovations .
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG-20170901-WA0000[1].jpg 
Views:	601 
Size:	70.0 KB 
ID:	6866

Pls see pic attached. Not sure if it has uploaded correctly.
    I found the earth wire connected to a galvanised pipe, (seen this many times before), but the galvanised pipe has corroded right off.
    This guy had already bought the house and gotten a certificate of compliance.

I told the owner that surely they should have knocked in a spike or two at least and tested for good earth resistance.

The owner contacted the electrician and the electrician said that an earth is not required. (P.S I am a qualified electrician with wiremans).
    Are there instances where this is the case? I know on the compliance certificate it says: "Earth resistance if required", so I'm wondering if I will learn something new today

Perhaps if the supply is in a certain configuration it is ok?
    I know the transformer neutral makes the installation safe most of the time anyway but still feel there should always be adequate earthing nonetheless.

Thanks
    Is that earth wire still connected? If it is it's in breach of the CoC;
    7 Connection of conductors and earthing and bonding are mechanically sound and electrically continuous
    Difficult to say if an earth electrode is required without more info.

3. Thanks given for this post:

hartdev@hotmail.com (05-Sep-17)

Thanks
    Thanks Andy

I spoke to the electrician who issued the C.O.C and he informed me that he recently had the refresher course for the latest 2017 Sans edition.
    I have been slack and not yet bought it but now realize I need to buy the new addition asap.

There were a few questions I had regarding the certificate he issued:

1. No earth electrode resistance test done and of course the fact that there was no earth spike at all.