Thread: Using 1 core as an earth?

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    Thanks

Using 1 core as an earth?

Hi Guys

Let me start of by saying I am not an electrician :-)
    Can anyone please give me some guidance on the below

Our contractor did an installation and used a 4 core armored cable. As it is a single phase supply, he used one of the cores as the earth. Our client has now rejected the installation as they say the Earth has to be a separate bare earth cable and we cannot use one of the cores.

In speaking to a few people I am getting conflicting information whether this is a legal installation or not.

Can anyone give me a definitive answer on this with reference made to a specific section in SANS so I can show the client

Email problem
    Thanks
    theres nothing wrong with using one of the cores as an earth. i prefer it to separate earth wires. the armouring must still be earthed as well. the core can be stripped bare on the ends or green/yellow heatshrink used to show its an earth wire. sorry i dont have my sans book to reference.

3. Thank given for this post:

Chilli (18-Aug-17), Dave A (18-Aug-17)

Thanks
    TBH this is something that immediately gets my back up and I point blank refuse to work that way with clients, consultants or architects. If a client has an issue about the way something is installed then the onus is on them to provide a regulation and motivate in writing how the method of installation is not compliant or not safe. In many circumstances there's no regulation that states specifically that an installation method is compliant, often the regs only state certain methods that aren't compliant so it's almost impossible to find a regulation to specifically justify many things that are perfectly good practice.