Thread: Plug circuit works but no neutral return path

Thanks

Plug circuit works but no neutral return path

I'm not an electrician, but have a fair DIY understanding of single phase electrical wiring.

A lot of building and electrical work was done on my partner's house immediately before she moved in. All the lights/plugs etc work, but she's had intermittent tripping that I tried to fix this weekend. I found a rats nest of wires in the DB, as well as loose wires that I assume went to plugs/lights etc that were removed in the rebuild.

I was hoping to fix the obvious faults and then bring in a qualified pro to check / fix and sign off on the CoC.

Here's my (very confusing) problem. The house has a plug circuit that has been wired to bypass Earth leakage. It trips the ELCB as soon as I try connect it correctly. I followed the instructions AndyD posted to track down EL problems with no luck, but here is the thing: as long as the circuit bypasses the ELCB the circuit works EVEN IF all the neutrals are disconnected. I even disconnected the mains neutral in the DB and the circuit STILL works.

Is there something obvious I can look for, or is this clearly a job for a qualified electrician?

Many thanks for any ideas.

Thanks
    Thanked 2,676 Times in 2,257 Posts
    Blog Entries
    It seems likely the returning neutral is connected to earth.

Quote Originally Posted by DavyR View Post
    A lot of building and electrical work was done on my partner's house immediately before she moved in.
    The contractor that did the electrical work should issue the CoC on the work they have done.
    (It was done by a registered electrical contractor, right?)

Thanks
    Thanks for the insight Dave. I had no idea that a circuit would work if the neutral is connected to earth.