Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 16 of 16

Thread: Cannot open companies in Pastel Xpress V11 after windows 10 update

  1. #11
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    HUMANSDORP
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    hi Bertie
    please can you send me above mentioned too, as im struggling - i have run the updates and now Pastel cannot load my companies or server after the updates?
    thanks
    luzane

  2. #12
    Platinum Member Neville Bailey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Morningside, Durban
    Posts
    2,483
    Thanks
    35
    Thanked 405 Times in 352 Posts
    Here is the solution:

    Close Pastel, then browse to your Pastel folder and right click on the executable file that launches Pastel, e.g. Partner.exe or Xpress.exe, and select Properties.

    Open the Compatibility tab and tick the box named "Run this program as an administrator", and then click on OK.

    Open Pastel and go to Manage Companies, and click on Locate Server, and browse to the Custom folder (found under your Pastel folder on the main Pastel computer) and click on the Registration folder and click on OK.

    The companies should then display.
    Neville Bailey - Pastel Accounting Consultant and Photographer
    neville@accountingsoftwaresupport.co.za
    www.accountingsoftwaresupport.co.za
    IronTree Online Solutions
    View Neville Bailey Photography

    "Give every person more in use value than you take from them in cash value."
    WALLACE WATTLES (1860-1911)

  3. Thanks given for this post:

    brewadmin (20-May-18)

  4. #13
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    HUMANSDORP
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Neville Bailey View Post
    Here is the solution:

    Close Pastel, then browse to your Pastel folder and right click on the executable file that launches Pastel, e.g. Partner.exe or Xpress.exe, and select Properties.

    Open the Compatibility tab and tick the box named "Run this program as an administrator", and then click on OK.

    Open Pastel and go to Manage Companies, and click on Locate Server, and browse to the Custom folder (found under your Pastel folder on the main Pastel computer) and click on the Registration folder and click on OK.

    The companies should then display.
    "Thanks Neville I did that and got the server but now if I want to add my companies again it keeps telling me: Your registration only allows 2 companies you have exceeded" but i just want to add the existing ones and add my backups please help as the Pastel People are NOT as helpful

  5. #14
    Platinum Member Neville Bailey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Morningside, Durban
    Posts
    2,483
    Thanks
    35
    Thanked 405 Times in 352 Posts
    You have the Xpress Startup package, which only allows you to add two companies, which you have previously done.

    After adding the server, do you see your two companies listed, but with a red cross over them? If so, then highlight the first one and then select Activate Company (not Add Company), and repeat for the second company.

    If you don't see the companies listed at all, then your package needs to be reset to allow you to add them again.

    Send me an email or PM if you would like to arrange a TeamViewer session with me.
    Neville Bailey - Pastel Accounting Consultant and Photographer
    neville@accountingsoftwaresupport.co.za
    www.accountingsoftwaresupport.co.za
    IronTree Online Solutions
    View Neville Bailey Photography

    "Give every person more in use value than you take from them in cash value."
    WALLACE WATTLES (1860-1911)

  6. #15
    New Member
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    swaziland
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hi All
    I am having the same problem. My comp gives the following message: -2147220503 The Application is not valid. Please specify the correct Application Path. Registration checking cannot continue.
    If I go into pastel and try locate server it I get it in custom reg file, and all my companies are shown but i cant go further, if i close the server is gone again.

    Please help

    Mike

  7. #16
    New Member
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    Cape Town
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hi Neville, thank you so much for your help on this issue.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Similar Threads

  1. Pastel Xpress - Can not open companies/locate server
    By J7J in forum Accounting Forum
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 17-Sep-15, 09:35 AM
  2. [Question] Pastel Xpress 2009/Windows 8
    By DPI Admin in forum Accounting Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-Feb-14, 02:02 PM
  3. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-Nov-13, 01:01 PM
  4. [Question] How to create open balances when changing to Pastel Xpress?
    By fuzegraphics in forum Accounting Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-Dec-12, 01:14 PM
  5. Pastel Xpress Startup - Issue with no of companies
    By J7J in forum Accounting Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-May-12, 09:46 PM

Did you like this article? Share it with your favourite social network.

Did you like this article? Share it with your favourite social network.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •