Thread: What is the optimal tax structure for small property development?

Email problem
    Thanks

What is the optimal tax structure for small property development?

A friend would like to start small in property development buying a stand and using a builder to build a house on this stand which he will then sell at a profit. Then repeat.
    The property is at the coast, sea views and all of that. Selling price at the end around R1.6M
    What advise would you give to structure such a deal? What type of entity should the deal be done in? What should he keep in mind (any lessons learned)?

Thanks
    I have never done such thing before, but I think tax should be the first and foremost determining factor. Gut feel tells me that I would never do this in my personal name. Best would be to ask his accountant as a starting point.
    Houses4Rent
    "We treat your investment as we treat our own"
    marc@houses4rent.co.za www.houses4rent.co.za
    083-3115551
    Global Residential Property Investor / Specialized Letting Agent & Property Manager

Silver Member
    Thanks
    The ideal thing would be to have an already VAT registered company and transfer the property into the company and do the development. Your builders and service providers will charge VAT which you can claim back when you sell the property.

Thanks
    Is the builder registered for vat? At the end of the day vat is payable on the full selling price but only off set by your input vat paid. So you could end up paying quite a bit more than you could claim back. For the first house I would build in my own name and reconsider the situation if I wanted to continue building.

Silver Member
    Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by Richard S View Post