Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Shorts and Two tone shirt

Suspended
    Thanks

Shorts and Two tone shirt

I have another question. Last week a candidate came for an interview with us dressed in denim shorts, a two tone shirt, short socks with contractors boots. I would be interested to hear what people out there think about this.

To answer some of the things that might be brought up:
    Yes he has got the qualifications for the relevant job spec
    Yes we did interview him
    And yes we did then refer him on to the client, that same day (dressed the same)

How would you, if you were the client first of all expect a potential new employee to be dressed that you had to interview etc etc ?

Ps. I am not really interested in what the law says. I do not want this thread to go like the other thread.
    I know the law. I am asking for people's opinion.

Diamond Member
    Thanks
    Depends on the position. If he is being interviewed for a position as an accountant I would not be happy, if he was being interviewed for a position as a golfing range groundsman it would perfectly ok.

Suspended
    Thanks
    He was in actual fact being interviewed for an electrical engineers job. Do you think the client would be happy to see him arrive this way or would you not think that the client would think that he could not even bother to smarten up a bit, therefore he might not be that serious about the position ?

Thanks
    So if he gets the job then you know you can't judge a book by it's cover!
    Only stress when you can change the outcome!

Suspended
    Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by IanF View Post
    So if he gets the job then you know you can't judge a book by it's cover!
    Yes you are right Ian. But please just in case you were thinking this, I was not. I am just trying to get other peoples perspective out there. Times are changing.

Diamond Member
    Thanks
    That how I dress everyday , living in Durban it is HOT...HOT and sweaty.