Thread: How to 'cancel' invoices in previous financial year on Pastel Xpress V11

Thanks

Post How to 'cancel' invoices in previous financial year on Pastel Xpress V11

Hi everyone

I just started at a new job and there are a bunch of mistakes that need to be corrected, and I would love to get some advice from everyone.

We have invoices that were created for customers and the invoices need to be 'canceled', I have no idea how to cancel an invoice where the batch has already been updated and where the invoice is in the previous financial year.

I am new to Pastel and would appreciate some guidance.

Thanks

Angelic

Thanks
    Hi Angelic,

I would suggest that it is never a good practice to cancel an invoice.

It would be better to use a credit note to "cancel out" the amount created by that Invoice with an explanation as to why it is being credited.

As the Financial Statement for last year would include those Invoices, it is not a good practice to mess around with last year's dates. Rather make your changes in the present year which will then rectify the amounts accordingly.
    No act of kindness, no matter how small, is ever wasted. - Aesop "The Lion and the Mouse"

3. Thanks given for this post:

Angelic (03-Jul-13)

Thanks
    Hi Mike

Thank you so much for your advice, I was thinking the same thing, I just wanted to make sure that, that is the best way to do it.

Thanks
    Also, to add to Mike's good advice, Pastel does not allow you to process invoices or credit notes in a previous financial year, although you can process prior year journals.
    Neville Bailey - Sage Pastel Accounting Consultant
    www.accountingsoftwaresupport.co.za
    neville@accountingsoftwaresupport.co.za
    IronTree Online Solutions

"Give every person more in use value than you take from them in cash value."
    WALLACE WATTLES (1860-1911)

6. Thanks given for this post:

Angelic (04-Jul-13)

Thanks
    Hi