Thread: spotlights

Bronze Member
    Thanks

spotlights

Can anyone tell me what the lifespan is for these 15W and 500W hallogen globes as I'm getting called weekly to go change these globes on these small black spotlight made for these globes. The voltage is fine and there's no short on the cables. I don't know what is wrong with these lights and don't know what to tell the customer. Any advise wil be much appreciated please!

Thanks
    http://www.diybanter.com/uk-diy/1983...t-problem.html maybe this can help, but I am no expert.

Thanks
    Blog Entries
    Yep it's the cheap stuff from China. Paying R10 for a 500W hallogen tube is not going to work for long. My experience is also a week to two.
    Maybe it is time to replace the Hallogens for LED spots?
    They are about R1,000 for a 50W LED spot which is comparable to the 500W Hallogen.
    They should last some 50,000 hours and are not voltage sensitive, usually operating voltages can vary from 165 to 260V
    Victor - Knowledge is a blessing or a curse, your current circumstances make you decide!
    Solar pumping, Solar Geyser & Solar Security lighting solutions - www.microsolve.co.za

Bronze Member
    Thanks
    Thought so, i played R24 for it, but matelec is suppose to be good,they have lots of good stuff. I tried another type that cost me R55 and lasted about nine days

Email problem
    Thanks
    it might be the lampholders ,if it looks burnt where it makes contact with the lamp it overheats and shortens the life.
    make sure the fittings are'nt installed too close under roof sheets etc . the heat needs to rise and dissapate. if not the fitting overheats and shortens lamp life.

6. Thanks given for this post:

AndyD (27-May-13)

Thanks
    Blog Entries
    Until 2 or 3 years back, the same lamp holders, the globes used to last a year or more, so no physical change to the position of the holders, except for the lamps themselves. The quality just is not there any more.