Thread: Best practice for cash sales using Pastel point of sale

Email problem
    Thanks

Best practice for cash sales using Pastel point of sale

Hi there

It seems I have more questions than answers these days but I hope to be able to return the favour someday soon.

A new client that I do bookkeeping for is using Pastel point of sale (which I have no experience with) and I would just like to know the best practice in terms of processing cash sales in Pastel Express when it is used in conjunction with Pastel Point of sale. They do the sales processing at the shop and I do the bookkeeping at my office.

The cash sales and credit card payments are invoiced and processed through point of sale. The previous bookkeeper would capture the total cash sales for each day in the petty cash receipts cash book from the POS sales report as the cash income is not banked, and the total credit card payments for each day in the bank receipts cash book from the bank statement.

As the cash income doesn't reflect on the bank statement, what is the most correct way (which entry type?) to capture the cash income - capturing income in a petty cash cash book is surely not the norm?

Thanks in advance for your help.

Regards
    Raene
    Last edited by Raene; 16-Apr-13 at 01:36 AM.

Thanks
    Hi Raene,

Pastel's POS system generates all accounting entries automatically in Pastel, so there should be no need for you to capture any transactions in Xpress, unless the POS computer and the Xpress computer are not networked.

Here are the entries that are/should be generated:

When a sale is made, the cash sales account in the customer ledger is debited and the sales account in the income statement is credited.

When payment is tendered, the POS Cash Control account in the balance sheet is debited and the cash sales debtor account is credited. The POS Cash Control account represents money in the till that has not yet been banked.