Thread: Where does the money go to in between banks?

Thanks

Where does the money go to in between banks?

Can anyone tell me where the money goes to during inter-bank transfers.

I transfer money from my bank, and it is taken off my bank balance - but it takes a whole day (and sometimes longer) to show in the beneficiaries bank balance. Where does that money go to for the waiting period and what kind of interest must all those multi-millions be making?

Silver Member
    Thanks
    I'm no expert on this but I can trll you that only a small fraction of the bank's business is cash, that means that they deal with virtual money all the time so I personally wouldn't assume that they are making interest on one day transfers, I would assume that it takes time for their inter-bank systems to update and it's more of a security option than anything else. And then again I could be completely wrong in what I'm saying here, I must say that this is no concern to me, I would rather look at exorbitant bank charges and monopolistic banking business practice
    ---There is no traffic at the extra mile---

Diamond Member
    Thanks
    I suspect that the money is shifted from the individuals account into a holding account allocated to the other institution. I suspect that all the institutions do this. At some point, be it during the evening (or 1 every 2 days or whatever), all the institutions balance up their books and shift the difference to one another. I think that the money earns interest within these accounts at all times.

Thanks
    The earning of interest theory is worrying as it suggests that they make money on your transfer, you with xyz bank, on a Monday you transfer x amount to abc bank. It only reflects in account holder s's account at abc bank on Wednesday. So for one full day interst is earned?
    “Ubuntu is the essence of being humane" Desmond Tutu
    Spelling mistakes and/or typographical errors I found in leading publications.
    Click here
    sabbaticus