Thread: Boss undermines me!!!!

Thanks

Boss undermines me!!!!

Hi there to you all, I joined this forum today cause basically I was looking for some advice.

The story goes like this im a Sales Manager for company X and the owner of the Company also a sales rep of nature, he's got this nature of phoning my clients and visiting them, which means they dont deal with me after awhile, they deal directly with him, cause why would they deal with a manager if they could deal with a owner. No problem I dont lose my comm, and it's not like I dont follow up, this guy just like shoving his nose into all my big accounts and then he basically takes over. It makes me feel like im basically a promoter of the company not even a salesman anymore. Previously he lost some "BIG" accounts and after two years I got them back, and what do you know, he sticks he's nose in there again. Any advice would be appreciated, at this stage in time, I cant even type properly because of the anger and the frustration.

Email problem
    Thanks
    Hi Willie,

Welcome to the forum.

I've been in sales a long time. I have my own IT Company, so I know where you're coming from.

Firstly, a Sales Manager shouldn't be visiting clients to get business. Sales rep's do that. A sales manager MANAGES the sales reps. He attends business breakfasts, does networking, has 1-on-1's with his sales reps to see where they can improve, he boosts moral at morning meetings etc

He does visit / call clients yes, but only to see if everything is going well. To basically make an appearance per say.

What your boss is doing, is leeching off your hard work. He is letting you harvest the clients, and he is reaping the rewards by visiting / consulting with clients YOU have harvested. I'll bet a month's salary that this guy couldn't close if his life depended on it. He's taking the easy route. Letting you do all the hard work.

Why?