Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Seacom ADSL failures reported

  1. #1
    Platinum Member SilverNodashi's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Johannesburg, South Africa
    Posts
    1,172
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 188 Times in 136 Posts

    Seacom ADSL failures reported

    Backbone events

    London, National, Rosebank
    Friday, June 04, 2010 9:15 AM
    Dear IS Customer

    UPDATE:
    Seacom report errors on upstream international network.

    IMPACT: Packet loss
    ATTENDING: Upstream Service Provider
    STATUS: Investigating

    We are experiencing the following service event:

    AFFECTED SERVICES: International Consumer ADSL,Velocity
    AFFECTED POPS: London, Rosebank
    GRADE OF SERVICE IMPACT: Major
    SERVICE IMPACT: Packet loss
    CAUSE OF EVENT: Cause unknown
    TIME: 4-6-10 10h46
    OUR REF: 1-617057062
    CURRENT STATUS: Investigating
    ATTENDING: Upstream Service Provider

    ADDITIONAL INFORMATION:
    None
    Get superfast South African Hosting at WebHostingZone

  2. Thanks given for this post:

    BusFact (07-Jun-10)

  3. #2
    Gold Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Johannesburg
    Posts
    832
    Thanks
    180
    Thanked 176 Times in 145 Posts
    That might explain my recent intermittant and sometimes slower than normal connection. I hope this gets sorted out soon. Although if they fix the cable and I still have problems, then I may have to start dealing with Telkom and their local lines

  4. #3
    Site Caretaker Dave A's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Durban, South Africa
    Posts
    20,979
    Thanks
    3,055
    Thanked 2,462 Times in 2,067 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12
    If you want to know where you're losing speed, run tracert

    In XP you'd go Start > Run
    Type in cmd and click OK.
    In the command box that opens, type in tracert theforumsa.co.za (as example - but it could be any domain you're having speed problems with).
    You'll then get a list of response times to reach each server you're piped through and can generally identify the problem leg.

    ps. For the record this does not work on Vodacom 3g - it times out all the way.
    The trouble with opportunity is it normally comes dressed up as work.

Similar Threads

  1. [Article] Uncapped ADSL @ R220/pm
    By SilverNodashi in forum Technology Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 30-Mar-10, 01:40 PM
  2. Seacom has already affected broadband pricing
    By Dave A in forum Technology Forum
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 12-Jan-09, 09:37 AM
  3. How to get ADSL up and running quickly.
    By Dave A in forum Technology Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 30-Apr-07, 08:25 PM
  4. Cut in ADSL costs on the way?
    By I Robot in forum Technology Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 14-Jun-06, 12:30 PM
  5. Telkom technical joke?
    By Dave A in forum General Business Forum
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 02-Jun-06, 10:01 AM

Did you like this article? Share it with your favourite social network.

Did you like this article? Share it with your favourite social network.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •