Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: What type of wiring?

  1. #1
    Email problem 123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    57
    Thanks
    25
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

    What type of wiring?

    The first 3 pics, what type of wiring is that? I have never seen this before.
    The 4th one, well all was done by a MIE and signed off....
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	PIC-0294.jpg 
Views:	61 
Size:	68.0 KB 
ID:	1182   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	PIC-0293.jpg 
Views:	47 
Size:	62.2 KB 
ID:	1183   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	PIC-0292.jpg 
Views:	60 
Size:	82.1 KB 
ID:	1184  

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	PIC-0295.jpg 
Views:	54 
Size:	62.2 KB 
ID:	1185  
    If it is not broken, fix/test it until it is.
    This is my opinion and I stick to it.

  2. #2
    Suspended
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    2,346
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 254 Times in 209 Posts
    looks like the old flat twin+e plastered straight into the walls...there is nothing wrong with using this and plastering straight onto the wall.

    pinetown electrical started that type of cheap cr*p wiring in durban...in fact a lot of the expensive town house complexes are wired like that in durban. which just proves doing really cheap cr*ppy work wont put you out of bussiness because they are still around in fact they did all the work for woolworths group eeeish.

  3. #3
    Diamond Member AndyD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Cape Town
    Posts
    4,403
    Thanks
    513
    Thanked 854 Times in 687 Posts
    Hi 123,

    If you're referring to the flat cable with an insulated earth it's a TPS cable, it's just a variation on the common ft&e cable. I've not seen it used in SA cause the regs don't call for earth wires to be sleeved or insulated, it's more popular in the UK and NZ. I'm going back a few years but the 2.5mm version used to be a multistranded conductor where the 2.5 ft&e here is a single solid strand. I'm wondering if it might be slightly higher current rated than the standard ft&e?

    *Edit*
    After saying that when I just scrutinised the pictures closer it actually looks like a low profile conduit with housewire pulled through it. If it is conduit you should check to see if it's SABS certified.

    That board also looks like there is two separate live supplies. Just watch your eyebrows, you might need to find two pointsto isolate it from :-)
    Last edited by AndyD; 20-Apr-10 at 03:05 PM.

  4. Thanks given for this post:

    123 (20-Apr-10)

  5. #4
    Silver Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Johannesburg
    Posts
    201
    Thanks
    25
    Thanked 52 Times in 43 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by murdock View Post
    looks like the old flat twin+e plastered straight into the walls...there is nothing wrong with using this and plastering straight onto the wall.

    pinetown electrical started that type of cheap cr*p wiring in durban...in fact a lot of the expensive town house complexes are wired like that in durban. which just proves doing really cheap cr*ppy work wont put you out of bussiness because they are still around in fact they did all the work for woolworths group eeeish.
    As far as I know you are not allowed to plaster twin & earth directly into the plaster, Surfix yes.......did I miss something?
    IJS Installations
    Electrical, Residential Gas and Electric fencing.

  6. #5
    Email problem 123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    57
    Thanks
    25
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by AndyD View Post
    That board also looks like there is two separate live supplies. Just watch your eyebrows, you might need to find two points to isolate it from :-)
    Thanks for the heads up.

    Indeed there is 2 separate live supplies, feeding from the one phase of the 3 phase point of supply. The 2 incoming wires, which is actually part of the 1 phase, feeding from a 3 phase supply, splitting the one phase into a 2 pole isolator, which in turn is feeding the rest of the DB and loads.

    Had to call Mnengse, our local "key" guy to make sure.
    If it is not broken, fix/test it until it is.
    This is my opinion and I stick to it.

  7. #6
    Diamond Member AndyD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Cape Town
    Posts
    4,403
    Thanks
    513
    Thanked 854 Times in 687 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by 123 View Post
    Thanks for the heads up.
    Welcome. Glad to hear you still have your eyebrows :-)

Similar Threads

  1. [Article] What is a headache?
    By BBBEE_CompSpec in forum General Business Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-Nov-09, 12:54 PM
  2. Company Type?
    By allsorts in forum General Business Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 19-Sep-09, 05:09 PM
  3. electrical standards
    By murdock in forum Electrical Contracting Industry Forum
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 06-Jan-08, 03:31 PM

Did you like this article? Share it with your favourite social network.

Did you like this article? Share it with your favourite social network.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •