Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: AVG 8 toolbar

  1. #1
    Site Caretaker Dave A's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Durban, South Africa
    Posts
    20,976
    Thanks
    3,055
    Thanked 2,462 Times in 2,067 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12

    AVG 8 toolbar

    If you have AVG 8, I suggest you don't load the toolbar and you disable Active-Surf and Active-Search. OK. I'm not sure that Active-Search is a problem, but Active-Surf certainly is.

    Every time you call a page on the web, this little monster checks with the AVG server to find out if it is safe to go there. It seems like a good idea, except AVG isn't coping with the load and you end up waiting for ages for the page you want to start loading.

    However, it just got better. Clearly there has been something of a crash, ending up with every page call returning that the page cannot be found. I've disabled the protection and the pages are there just fine. The problem is AVG!
    The trouble with opportunity is it normally comes dressed up as work.

  2. Thanks given for this post:

    Chrisjan B (22-Aug-08)

  3. #2
    Gold Member Chrisjan B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    GEORGE
    Posts
    610
    Thanks
    234
    Thanked 72 Times in 65 Posts
    Thanks for sharing this - I load AVG on a lot of computers, will know where to look, but so far no issues that I know of.

    With every install I do not install the tool bar that is why I have no issues.

    Also when I work on a computer I uninstall all tool bars like Yahoo, Google etc. one of the reasons being IMHO desktop space comes at a premium and tool bars takes unnecessary screen space and most people never even use it.
    Last edited by Chrisjan B; 23-Aug-08 at 06:09 PM.

    BOVER Technologies
    - computer sales and TeamViewer support
    Elmine Botha Freelance Photographer - Photographer/ Videographer

  4. #3
    Diamond Member wynn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    east london
    Posts
    3,338
    Thanks
    548
    Thanked 624 Times in 523 Posts
    I have had a problem with my computer freezing and it seems it does it when AVG does the scan,

    I uninstalled AVG and then reloaded it completely from the website, that was yesterday, when I tried to run AVG it would load as far as 79 to 80% and freeze.
    This morning I ran it and it completely worked, I scanned my computer, it took 35 minutes, but now I have what feels like a new computer, hope it stays that way.

    I also have a google toolbar on my search page, how do I delete it?

  5. #4
    Gold Member Chrisjan B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    GEORGE
    Posts
    610
    Thanks
    234
    Thanked 72 Times in 65 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by wynn View Post
    I have had a problem with my computer freezing and it seems it does it when AVG does the scan,

    I uninstalled AVG and then reloaded it completely from the website, that was yesterday, when I tried to run AVG it would load as far as 79 to 80% and freeze.
    This morning I ran it and it completely worked, I scanned my computer, it took 35 minutes, but now I have what feels like a new computer, hope it stays that way.

    I also have a google toolbar on my search page, how do I delete it?
    Uninstall from Control Panel -> Add/Remove programs -> Google tool bar.

    BOVER Technologies
    - computer sales and TeamViewer support
    Elmine Botha Freelance Photographer - Photographer/ Videographer

  6. #5
    Site Caretaker Dave A's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Durban, South Africa
    Posts
    20,976
    Thanks
    3,055
    Thanked 2,462 Times in 2,067 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by wynn View Post
    I also have a google toolbar on my search page, how do I delete it?
    Or if you just want to disable (in case you want it quickly for something one day):
    Open your browser and then select Tools>Manage Add-ons>Enable/disable add-ons.

    This gives you a list of all optional "browser help objects" for your browser.
    The trouble with opportunity is it normally comes dressed up as work.

  7. #6
    Diamond Member wynn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    east london
    Posts
    3,338
    Thanks
    548
    Thanked 624 Times in 523 Posts
    Thanks guys I did it (slowly becoming less of a technodactyl) it loaded when I installed 'Firefox'

Tags for this Thread

Did you like this article? Share it with your favourite social network.

Did you like this article? Share it with your favourite social network.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •