Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Yahoo site explorer

  1. #1
    just me duncan drennan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Cape Town
    Posts
    2,642
    Thanks
    119
    Thanked 94 Times in 77 Posts

    Yahoo site explorer

    I added my site to Yahoo a long time ago, and also set up my site feed on their Site Explorer. When I checked back a while ago I noticed that the last time it was processed was when I originally submitted it. I resubmitted it and it was processed again, but there does not seem to be any way of getting it to regularly check the feed (sitemap).

    Any way to do this other than checking back regularly to resubmit it?
    [SIGPIC]Engineer Simplicity[/SIGPIC]
    Turn ideas into products | The Art of Engineering blog

  2. #2
    Site Caretaker Dave A's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Durban, South Africa
    Posts
    20,980
    Thanks
    3,055
    Thanked 2,462 Times in 2,067 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12
    Are you using an XML sitemap?
    The trouble with opportunity is it normally comes dressed up as work.

  3. #3
    just me duncan drennan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Cape Town
    Posts
    2,642
    Thanks
    119
    Thanked 94 Times in 77 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dave A View Post
    Are you using an XML sitemap?
    It is actually for my blog and the feed can be used as the sitemap.
    [SIGPIC]Engineer Simplicity[/SIGPIC]
    Turn ideas into products | The Art of Engineering blog

  4. #4
    Site Caretaker Dave A's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Durban, South Africa
    Posts
    20,980
    Thanks
    3,055
    Thanked 2,462 Times in 2,067 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12
    I see you use a sitemap line in your robots.txt file.

    I also see Yahoo! has got 354 pages indexed for your blog anyway...

    By the way - what have you got against Mediapartners-Google?

    And after drawing up this next bit, I now notice you are using the blogger platform. Damn. But for anyone else who might be using Wordpress:

    Use an XML sitemap generator plugin for Wordpress instead of the feed format and put the URL for an XML sitemap in your robots.txt file instead. Yahoo! found the sitemaps here via robots.txt no problem and collects them about every 48 hours without prompting.
    The trouble with opportunity is it normally comes dressed up as work.

  5. #5
    just me duncan drennan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Cape Town
    Posts
    2,642
    Thanks
    119
    Thanked 94 Times in 77 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dave A View Post
    I see you use a sitemap line in your robots.txt file.

    I also see Yahoo! has got 354 pages indexed for your blog anyway...

    By the way - what have you got against Mediapartners-Google?

    And after drawing up this next bit, I now notice you are using the blogger platform.
    The robots.txt is the default set by Blogger. I do know that yahoo has the site indexed, but was just confused by the way their site explorer works. With Google Sitemaps it is quite clear when it lasted processed your sitemap, but with Site Explorer it appears to only process it at submission time (but that may not actually be the case - they just report it that way).

    How do you know The Forum's sitemap is being picked up every 48 hours?
    [SIGPIC]Engineer Simplicity[/SIGPIC]
    Turn ideas into products | The Art of Engineering blog

  6. #6
    just me duncan drennan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Cape Town
    Posts
    2,642
    Thanks
    119
    Thanked 94 Times in 77 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dave A View Post
    By the way - what have you got against Mediapartners-Google?
    If you look carefully you will actually see that that line allows the Adsense bot to access all pages, while the next line stops search engines from going through certain directories which contain "duplicate" content.

    I wish Wordpress users would do the same on their blogs so that their tags pages are not indexed.
    [SIGPIC]Engineer Simplicity[/SIGPIC]
    Turn ideas into products | The Art of Engineering blog

  7. #7
    Site Caretaker Dave A's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Durban, South Africa
    Posts
    20,980
    Thanks
    3,055
    Thanked 2,462 Times in 2,067 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by duncan drennan View Post
    How do you know The Forum's sitemap is being picked up every 48 hours?
    Downloads of any file are logged. There is a vB plugin that filters and puts the data into a rather handy report accessible from the backend.
    The trouble with opportunity is it normally comes dressed up as work.

Similar Threads

  1. Microsoft's Bid to take over Yahoo! at a standstill
    By twinscythe12332 in forum Technology Forum
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 14-May-08, 09:39 PM
  2. How do I make myself visible?
    By Rudi in forum Marketing Forum
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 04-Mar-08, 08:24 AM
  3. [Article] Online Media Optimization (Post 100)
    By Chatmaster in forum Marketing Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 21-Sep-07, 02:35 PM
  4. MS Explorer Version 7
    By Sieg in forum Technology Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 30-Nov-06, 11:27 AM

Tags for this Thread

Did you like this article? Share it with your favourite social network.

Did you like this article? Share it with your favourite social network.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •