Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: OT: Can anyone access http://www.rentacoder.com?

  1. #1
    Platinum Member SilverNodashi's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Johannesburg, South Africa
    Posts
    1,172
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 188 Times in 136 Posts

    OT: Can anyone access http://www.rentacoder.com?

    I'm trying to figure out if it's just me, or something on the South African internet. I cannot access http://www.rentacoder.com - I keep on getting a 504 Gateway Timeout.

    Can anyone else access this website?
    Get superfast South African Hosting at WebHostingZone

  2. #2
    Site Caretaker Dave A's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Durban, South Africa
    Posts
    20,979
    Thanks
    3,055
    Thanked 2,462 Times in 2,067 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12
    It seems they're having server problems. Nothing wrong with the URL and DNS by the looks of things.
    The trouble with opportunity is it normally comes dressed up as work.

  3. #3
    Platinum Member SilverNodashi's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Johannesburg, South Africa
    Posts
    1,172
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 188 Times in 136 Posts
    well, the funny part is that I haven't been able to access the site for the past 2 weeks from ADSL, and also thought it's a server problem on their side,
    until I tried accessing from my Linux server in the USA, via SSH. Unfortunately lynx & links doesn't support their site very well, so I can't really login.

    And I was able to access it from dialup from our farm this weekend without a problem.
    Get superfast South African Hosting at WebHostingZone

  4. #4
    Full Member Moneymaker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    43
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Loads fine from here in Aus.............

  5. #5
    Site Caretaker Dave A's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Durban, South Africa
    Posts
    20,979
    Thanks
    3,055
    Thanked 2,462 Times in 2,067 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12
    Huh-I was testing via Telkom ADSL. I'll try via V3g tonight.

    I've had wierd problems like this before with transparent proxies on some of the ISP services.
    Last edited by Dave A; 25-Mar-08 at 02:53 PM.
    The trouble with opportunity is it normally comes dressed up as work.

  6. #6
    Platinum Member SilverNodashi's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Johannesburg, South Africa
    Posts
    1,172
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 188 Times in 136 Posts
    so it's a problem on the SA ADSL network then
    Get superfast South African Hosting at WebHostingZone

  7. #7
    Full Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Hermanus
    Posts
    76
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Try using this proxy: cache.telkomsa.net:8080

    It's one of the saix transparent proxies and it works for me. I couldn't access the site before I used the proxy but I can now.


    I think one of their transparent proxies are having issues, but this one seems to work for now

    Good luck!
    Make money by referring hosting clients to us.
    No sign up fees, no minimum monthly quotas, great earning potential!
    Click here for more info...

  8. #8
    Platinum Member SilverNodashi's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Johannesburg, South Africa
    Posts
    1,172
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 188 Times in 136 Posts
    thanx, I tried cache.saix.net before without any problems, but cache.telkomsa.net worked
    Get superfast South African Hosting at WebHostingZone

  9. #9
    Site Caretaker Dave A's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Durban, South Africa
    Posts
    20,979
    Thanks
    3,055
    Thanked 2,462 Times in 2,067 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12
    Let me gently ease a log onto the fire here.

    I've had a similar problem accessing cPanel on a New York server via ADSL - and yet I can access it via V3g. However, I have no problems accessing the front end of this particular site via ADSL.

    Now SoftDux raises this access problem with a site for international coders.

    I wonder how much of this is someone tweaking a few settings locally on the default transparent proxies to inhibit accessing certain foreign IT resources?
    I say "certain" because on ADSL I have no problem connecting to cPanel via ADSL for another one of my overseas hosted sites (a server in Texas I believe).

    Or am I being a conspiracy theorist here?
    The trouble with opportunity is it normally comes dressed up as work.

  10. #10
    Platinum Member SilverNodashi's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Johannesburg, South Africa
    Posts
    1,172
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 188 Times in 136 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dave A View Post
    Let me gently ease a log onto the fire here.

    I've had a similar problem accessing cPanel on a New York server via ADSL - and yet I can access it via V3g. However, I have no problems accessing the front end of this particular site via ADSL.

    Now SoftDux raises this access problem with a site for international coders.

    I wonder how much of this is someone tweaking a few settings locally on the default transparent proxies to inhibit accessing certain foreign IT resources?
    I say "certain" because on ADSL I have no problem connecting to cPanel via ADSL for another one of my overseas hosted sites (a server in Texas I believe).

    Or am I being a conspiracy theorist here?

    Not quite. From time to time I get a call from a client saying they can't access cPanel, Webmail, or even SMTP / POP3 from our American hosted servers, at which point I tell them to contact their ISP, and them "magically" it works shortly after that. I also know of many incidents where certain ISP's block email to & from other ISP's, making their clients believe the blocked ISP's service is crap....
    Get superfast South African Hosting at WebHostingZone

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Remote access to your PC
    By Eugene in forum Technology Forum
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 16-Apr-13, 01:31 PM
  2. BackgroundcCheck Complete | Complete/Unlimited Access
    By Mr.Robert in forum Business Finance Forum
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 05-May-09, 12:55 PM
  3. HOW THE NCA CAME ABOUT
    By Eugene in forum National Credit Act Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 22-Jun-07, 09:57 AM

Did you like this article? Share it with your favourite social network.

Did you like this article? Share it with your favourite social network.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •