Thread: Motherboard Problem

Thanks

Question Motherboard Problem

Hi Folks,

I have been having a tad of trouble lately with my pc, here are the specs (I'm a layman, so its not perfect)

Case. Thermaltake Matrix
    PSU. Thermaltake 500W
    Cooling. Thermaltake 80mm x4 (case fans)
    Thermaltake supercool x1 (CPU)
    Thermaltake 60mm and 40mm (PSU)
    M/board. Asus p5n32-SLi SE Deluxe
    CPU. Intel Pentium D 3.4Ghz Dual
    RAM. Samsung DDR2, 667Mhz 2 x 1GB Dual (2048)
    Graphics. 2 x Gainward 7600GT 256MB Golden sample (SLi Linked)
    HDD. 2 x 250GB Seagate SATA2
    OS. Win XP Pro Ver. 9.00.2...
    everything is running as stock without overclocking.

The problem is that when I boot the system it runs the POST and starts to enter windows (xp initial screen with blue line). After this the screen goes black with the mouse arrow on screen and all activity ceases, power light stays on but HDD light shows no activity. Pressing reset button restarts the system and it enters windows normally as if there never was a problem. Also, when I run Supreme Commander, the game runs fine and then starts to get slow and choppy, after a few minutes the system freezes and I have to reach for the reset button again. Since yesterday, when I press the power button all the fans start up but nothing else happens, the power switch does not turn off the system and the reset button has no effect. I suspect the mainboard has a problem?

Anyone have any ideas?

Thanx,

Dave
    Last edited by Dave S; 05-Oct-07 at 10:57 AM. Reason: Additional Information

Email problem RKS Computer Solutions's Avatar
    Thanks
    Hi Dave,

Sounds like a things you might want to check out...